Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Brent 4 posts 24 karma points
    Nov 14, 2011 @ 18:36
    Brent

Moving my Wordpress sites to Umbraco

I'm just starting out with Umbraco and I'm trying to figure out what is the most efficient way to move my web sites that are currently using Wordpress. I only have 5 sites to convert but still enough so that I'd like to get this process figured out. All the sites have been built using ElegantThemes on Wordpress of which I have a license and purchased the version that includes the PSD files. I also have Microsoft Expression and Adobe Dreamweaver.

Any tips would be much appreciated.

thx,

• Darren Ferguson 1022 posts 3259 karma points MVP c-trib
    Nov 14, 2011 @ 23:08
    Darren Ferguson

Maybe have a look at CMS Import http://our.umbraco.org/projects/developer-tools/cmsimport

I don't know if it does RSS out of the box but if not you can always write a custom data adapter.

Richard - the author - may be able to help you out.

Nov 15, 2011 @ 06:12
    Brent

Hi Richard,

Thanks for the reply. I realized after I created this discussion item that I wasn't clear about what I wanted to convert. I tried to edit this post but received arrors with this forum software.

Anyways I'm not really looking for a way to convert the data. I purchased the themes from ElegantThemes and I'm trying to determine the best way to pull the theme assets into Umbraco. These are Wordpress themes.

• Richard Soeteman 4045 posts 12898 karma points MVP 2x
    Nov 15, 2011 @ 08:21
    Richard Soeteman

At the end the rendered wordpress themes are just HTML. Just pick that and replace the rendered content with  document type items and Macro's. As Darren mentioned I've created CMSImport. If you want to you can export your blogposts including comments from your Wordpress site and import them into Umbraco using CMSImport PRO version.

Cheers,

Richard