Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at


  • Jeroen Breuer 4861 posts 12130 karma points MVP 3x admin c-trib
    Feb 15, 2012 @ 17:06
    Jeroen Breuer
    1

    Multiple multilingual website hostname problem

    Hello,

    I'm trying to create multiple multilingual websites in Umbraco. The problem is that when I try to visit a node on my second website it goes the node on my first website. Here is my setup:

    - Website
       - NL (hostname site1.nl/nl - language Dutch)
       - EN (hostname site1.nl/en - language English) 
    - Website 2
       - NL (hostname site2.nl/nl - language Dutch)
       - EN (hostname site2.nl/en - language English) 

    In umbracoSettings.config I've set <useDomainPrefixes>true</useDomainPrefixes> and in the web.config I've set <add key="umbracoHideTopLevelNodeFromPath" value="true" />.

    If I go to site2.nl/nl or site2.nl/en I hoped I would get the content of site 2, but it shows the content of site 1. Probably because in site 1 I also have node called /nl and /en. This is a bug and is there a workaround somehow? Thanks.

    Jeroen

  • Jeroen Breuer 4861 posts 12130 karma points MVP 3x admin c-trib
    Feb 15, 2012 @ 17:12
    Jeroen Breuer
    0

    I meant "Is this a bug?" at the last line :-). Still waiting for the option to edit the first post in a topic ;-).

    Jeroen

  • Ismail Mayat 4437 posts 9758 karma points MVP 2x admin c-trib
    Feb 15, 2012 @ 17:13
    Ismail Mayat
    0

    Jeroen,

    Have you setup the host headers in iis?

    Regards

    Ismail

  • Jeroen Breuer 4861 posts 12130 karma points MVP 3x admin c-trib
    Feb 15, 2012 @ 17:26
    Jeroen Breuer
    0

    No I haven't. Currently running this local and changed the host file for site1.nl and site2.nl to go to my localhost. Would setting up the headers make a difference?

    Jeroen

  • Ismail Mayat 4437 posts 9758 karma points MVP 2x admin c-trib
    Feb 15, 2012 @ 17:49
    Ismail Mayat
    0

    ah if you have modified the hosts file then cant see how updating headers would make a difference but worth a go.

  • tentonipete 78 posts 223 karma points
    Feb 16, 2012 @ 10:07
    tentonipete
    0

    i had to add bindings to iis, hostnames in umbraco and edit hosts file.

    are you trying to do something like this? 

    http://our.umbraco.org/forum/using/ui-questions/25868-Advice-required-for-best-multilingual-approach

  • Stephen 767 posts 2265 karma points c-trib
    Feb 16, 2012 @ 19:40
    Stephen
    2

    We faced the same situation some time ago, and found it was due to bugs in Umbraco's request handler.

    Even with the proper setup in IIS, in Umbraco hostnames, in Umbraco config... collisions between differents sites are not properly managed and you end up getting pages of one site from within another site, or facing unexpected fallback from one site onto another when pages are missing, or...

    We have patched the request handler, and have no issue anymore. I have sent that patch to Jeroen and he confirms that it solves the issues he has.

    I might commit it to the Core but it has not been really fully tested at the moment and I am still afraid it might have unexpected side effects. Stay tuned.

     

  • djscorch 67 posts 106 karma points
    Mar 07, 2012 @ 00:18
    djscorch
    0

    Any news on this, this is one of the selling points of umbraco, and it no longer works?

  • Stephen 767 posts 2265 karma points c-trib
    Mar 16, 2012 @ 13:17
    Stephen
    1

    Still need to commit the patch... no time ;-(

  • Jeroen Breuer 4861 posts 12130 karma points MVP 3x admin c-trib
    Apr 08, 2012 @ 09:07
    Jeroen Breuer
    0

    We're creating our first website with Stephen his patch and didn't run into any problems yet. Any change this can be part of 4.7.2? 

    Jeroen

  • Davy Meybos 11 posts 96 karma points
    Apr 20, 2012 @ 13:44
    Davy Meybos
    0

    Hi Jeroen, Stephen,

    any chance you would like to share this patch with me? I have the same problem and I cannot wait on a next release.

    Please send it to dmeybos at luon dot com

    Thanks in advance!

    Kind regards,

    Davy

  • Jeroen Breuer 4861 posts 12130 karma points MVP 3x admin c-trib
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 09:26
    Jeroen Breuer
    0

    Niels announced that there will be a 4.8 version of Umbraco which will have a lot of community pull requests. Hopefully this can be included in that release.

    Jeroen

  • Davy Meybos 11 posts 96 karma points
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 09:30
    Davy Meybos
    0

    Unfortunatly, I cannot wait for this next release. My go-live date is at the beginning of next week.

    I sure hope you can send me the patch.

    Kind regards,

    Davy

     

  • Jeroen Breuer 4861 posts 12130 karma points MVP 3x admin c-trib
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 09:32
    Jeroen Breuer
    0

    Should be in your mailbox about now ;).

    Jeroen

  • Niels 63 posts 119 karma points
    May 09, 2012 @ 09:16
    Niels
    0

    So this saves me from a bad headache! Can you send me also the patch for this?

    niels at sportus dot nl

  • Jeroen Breuer 4861 posts 12130 karma points MVP 3x admin c-trib
    May 21, 2012 @ 16:19
    Jeroen Breuer
    0

    Just tested this again for a new website and it looks like it doesn't work if useDomainPrefixes in the umbracoSettings.config is true. Not sure that field even needs to be used anymore because with the hostname patch the full domain is always used.

    Jeroen

  • Stephen 767 posts 2265 karma points c-trib
    Jun 10, 2012 @ 08:46
    Stephen
    1

    @Jeroen

    Can you give more details as how it doesn't work with useDomainPrefixes? Or maybe we can talk at #CG12 if you're attending. Would be a great opportunity to cleanup the patch and commit it to 4.8.

    Stephan

  • Warren 12 posts 41 karma points
    Jun 29, 2012 @ 22:51
    Warren
    0

    @Jeroen

    Would it please be possible to email me  warren (at) bromige . net   the multi domain patch you have for 4.7 ?

    Many thanks in advance

    Warren.

  • David Dupont 61 posts 115 karma points
    Jul 05, 2012 @ 17:27
    David Dupont
    0

    Hi,

    I'm in the same situation than Stephen, Jeroen and Warren.
    I fought the whole day to make multi site domains works correctly in the 4.7 for a 5 website instance and I end up on that topic.

    Could someone provide me Stephen's patch in order I can test it on my instance.

    ddupont at emakina.ch

    Great thanks per advance.

    David

  • Peter Cort Larsen 365 posts 848 karma points
    Jul 05, 2012 @ 20:20
    Peter Cort Larsen
    0

    hi,

    i c ould also use a copy.

    thanks

    peter

    pcl at pcl.dk

  • Sébastien Richer 194 posts 429 karma points
    Jul 11, 2012 @ 15:58
    Sébastien Richer
    0

    Hello Stephen,

    Do you have this fix for 4.7.2? Or the changeset so I can reproduce locally?

    Thanks!

  • Sherry Ann Hernandez 320 posts 344 karma points
    Jul 11, 2012 @ 16:38
    Sherry Ann Hernandez
    0

    Hi

    Can I also have a patch? Because right now my work around is to check the url hostname on the main template and then redirect to the specific page.

    my e-mail is shercorp_fantine @ yahoo.com

    Thanks.

  • Stefan Kip 1580 posts 4036 karma points c-trib
    Jul 17, 2012 @ 11:09
    Stefan Kip
    0

    w00t, the patch worked for me!

    Thanks a LOT Stephen and Jeroen :-)

  • Chris Marquette 2 posts 22 karma points
    Jul 25, 2012 @ 00:03
    Chris Marquette
    0

    Just setup my first multi-domain site and ran in to this issue.  Can you send the patch to cmarquette at blueviewagency dot com?  Really appreciate it!

  • Stefan Kip 1580 posts 4036 karma points c-trib
    Jul 25, 2012 @ 08:53
    Stefan Kip
    0

    Sent.

  • Chris Marquette 2 posts 22 karma points
    Jul 25, 2012 @ 17:35
    Chris Marquette
    0

    Thanks Stefan and Jeroen!  Got the patch.

  • Rory 59 posts 84 karma points
    Aug 15, 2012 @ 13:41
    Rory
    0

    Hi, is this patch included in 4.8.1 or is it still required separately? if so, please could someone send it to me at rory AT penninedata DOT com.

    Thanks

  • Stefan Kip 1580 posts 4036 karma points c-trib
    Aug 15, 2012 @ 14:23
    Stefan Kip
    0

    Sent, it's not included in any umbraco release atm.

    From now on it's also available here: http://share.snacktools.com/ACEFDEF569B/cum84khr and here: https://www.wetransfer.com/dl/qlIl9hFG/8d13c78dc108e3704d606017d06fcfaccd18c5e737dc9da5aa8e2ec4231325ac9c99b4744bacd45

    Credits go to Stéphane and Jeroen.

  • Jeroen Breuer 4861 posts 12130 karma points MVP 3x admin c-trib
    Aug 15, 2012 @ 14:32
    Jeroen Breuer
    0

    It will probably be fixed in 4.10 because this part will be rewritten so it also works with MVC: http://issues.umbraco.org/issue/U4-104.

    Jeroen

  • Steve Bridges 51 posts 72 karma points
    Aug 16, 2012 @ 14:53
    Steve Bridges
    0

    I have the patch files, however before i use them - i see it is new versions of cms.dll and umbraco.dll - Are these for a specific version? (i.e. 4.7.1 or 4.7.2)?

    Will i break 4.8.1 or lose any 4.8.1 fixes if i overwrite these? (I assume there have been changes to 4.8.1 that will be lost if i overwrite these dlls)?

     

     

  • Stefan Kip 1580 posts 4036 karma points c-trib
    Aug 16, 2012 @ 14:59
    Stefan Kip
    0

    These files are for umbraco 4.7.1.1.

    They will remove changes in these files for newer versions of umbraco.

  • Steve Bridges 51 posts 72 karma points
    Aug 16, 2012 @ 15:10
    Steve Bridges
    0

    Thanks for confirming kipusoep.  That was what i thought (was just hoping i was wrong).

    Looks like i'll  either have to

    1. get the source and fix it myself

    2. insert my own module (bleh - messy)

    3. Hope and pray that the upcoming project i need this for can wait until 4.10 is out!

     

     

  • Sören Deger 726 posts 2833 karma points c-trib
    Sep 11, 2012 @ 18:41
    Sören Deger
    0

    I have download this patch:  http://share.snacktools.com/ACEFDEF569B/cum84khr and copy the cms.dll and umbraco.dll in the bin-directory. But after this, I see only a 404-Servererror :-/ Have anyone an idea?

    I use Umbraco 4.7.1.1.

     

    Sören

  • Stephen 767 posts 2265 karma points c-trib
    Sep 25, 2012 @ 13:24
    Stephen
    1

    Some clarification:

    The patch has never been merged into any pre-4.10 versions of Umbraco.

    The routing pipeline of 4.10 (not yet released) has been greatly refactored and should now work as per the patch.

    Stephan

  • Greg Mattison 40 posts 60 karma points
    Oct 29, 2012 @ 16:09
    Greg Mattison
    0

    Hello, we seem to be having the same issue. Could you please email the patch and instructions to me?  gregorymattison@gmail.com.  Thank you!

     

    Here's info on what we're experiencing:

    We have a site running 4.7.1 at www.lifeskills-mo.org and have created 3 subsites within the same Umbraco instance and have the hostname setup to one of the nodes as festivaloftrees-stl.org (and .com) however when you go to http://festivaloftrees-stl.org it just resolves to the main/default site, which is www.lifeskills-mo.org. 

    It works in our beta environment as you can go to http://festival.beta.habanero.com and get the subsite but it will not work here in the live environment. Obviously, the DNS of festivaloftrees-stl.org is pointing to the proper host as it resolves to the default site but we need it to resolve to the proper site.  

    Can anyone help?  Thanks.

  • Greg Mattison 40 posts 60 karma points
    Oct 29, 2012 @ 16:26
    Greg Mattison
    0

    Hello, we seem to be having the same issue. Could you please email the patch and instructions to me?  gregorymattison@gmail.com.  Thank you!

     

    Here's info on what we're experiencing:

    We have a site running 4.7.1 at www.lifeskills-mo.org and have created 3 subsites within the same Umbraco instance and have the hostname setup to one of the nodes as festivaloftrees-stl.org (and .com) however when you go to http://festivaloftrees-stl.org it just resolves to the main/default site, which is www.lifeskills-mo.org. 

    It works in our beta environment as you can go to http://festival.beta.habanero.com and get the subsite but it will not work here in the live environment. Obviously, the DNS of festivaloftrees-stl.org is pointing to the proper host as it resolves to the default site but we need it to resolve to the proper site.  

    Can anyone help?  Thanks.

  • Stephen 767 posts 2265 karma points c-trib
    Nov 13, 2012 @ 09:53
    Stephen
    1

    Latest status: 4.10 has been released and should work as per the patch.

  • wilenx 16 posts 66 karma points
    Jan 21, 2014 @ 08:44
    wilenx
    0

    I'm witnessing the same exact issue with Umbraco 6.1.6, only that on my local setup (with changing the hosts file) it works but with IIS setup with actual domains it fails.

    Has anyone else experienced this ?

  • Srdjan 18 posts 49 karma points
    Nov 06, 2015 @ 10:08
    Srdjan
    0

    Hi all,

    any chance someone still have that patch for multildomain/multilingual sites? Clients reported the similar issue in the site built three years ago related to non-existing node under one domain/language will fall back to existing node with the same name under another diff-domain/same-language. All provided patch links in this post and posts related to this are broken so I am not able to download it. I notice the patch is made for Umbraco 4.7.1 so I an not sure will this work for the site built on Umbraco 4.7.2? The another thing: a useDomainPrefix is not set to true (changing it to true will require a lot of source code changes and that is not the option for us).

    Thanks in advance, Srdjan

Please Sign in or register to post replies

Write your reply to:

Draft