Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Tim McCabe 5 posts 21 karma points
    Jul 15, 2009 @ 23:54
    Tim McCabe

New Install - Asking for Username and Password

I just downloaded the "Source for 4.0.2.1" on my Windows XP machine running IE8, gave "Network Service" Full Control over all the directories involved, and when I try to debug in VS2008 (.NET 3.5) I am not taken to the wizard screen, but rather to the login screen. I don't think that's what is supposed to happen.

If it is, what is the default login I'm supposed to use?

If this is not what's supposed to happen, what did I do wrong and how do I fix it?

I've never used this before and would love to give it a try...

Many, many thanks!

• Nico Lubbers 151 posts 175 karma points
    Jul 16, 2009 @ 00:21
    Nico Lubbers

Hmm, when you are using Umbraco the first time, I would recommend to start off by compiling the sourcecode.

I would recommend to use the "Application" download on top of the list in the download-section of http://umbraco.codeplex.com

That way you only need to create an empty database on a sql server, or you might even choose to use anorther database like mysql or the intergrated vistadb.

If you unzip everything to a folder and set IIS to use localhost for that folder than you should see the install wizard.

• Nico Lubbers 151 posts 175 karma points
    Jul 16, 2009 @ 00:23
    Nico Lubbers

EDIT: in the first line of my reply I mean "I would not recommend to start off by compiling the sourcecode"

• SaphuA 124 posts 87 karma points
    Jul 16, 2009 @ 00:25
    SaphuA

One thing I noticed before is that it automaticly shows a log-in screen when you browse to something like: domain.com/umbraco/umbraco.aspx

(not 100% sure if the url above is correct)

You should, however, browse to the 'root' so the installer will start: domain.com/