Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Brian Mills 4 posts 24 karma points
    Mar 23, 2012 @ 01:15
    Brian Mills

install worked, settings dont

I'm new to Umbraco, but a seasoned .Net dev who wanted to start using Umbraco for a number of websites so I dont have to do the basic updates myself. 

I've tried installing manually on my win7/VS2010 machine, as well as via NuGet, and I get the same issue. The settings area doesnt work. (The first thing I want to do is implement a custom template to customise the site to the client design).

When I hit the settings area its OK, but  but when I open "Templates" and then "Layout" in the settings tree, I get a 404.0 error on the right side. of the screen. 

It is looking for this URL:

http://umbraco2.local:80/Umbraco/Editors/TemplateEditor/Edit/storage$net_root$templates$_p__templates$_v__string$__Layout.c$html

Am I missing something? 

I've already had a look arround the wiki and documentation on GitHub and on this site, but I cant find reference to the problem. 

Any help would be appreciated. 

Apr 26, 2012 @ 12:36
    Brian Mills

Is anyone able to help me? I've just tried the same thing with a fresh install of 5.1 with no luck either. 

1. I've installed manually on my win7 machine. 
    2. I work on MVC3 c# projects on this machine, so I have mvc installed.
    3. I used a new website to host the files downloaded. 

The site works (I can see the content side) and I can log into the admin.

However all the admin pages dont load. Any thoughts?

• Grant Thomas 291 posts 324 karma points
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 12:46
    Grant Thomas

I wonder why the port number is being explicitly specified... is your site set up as a fully-fledged IIS hosted site? Pretty sure that's a requirement (though if it wasn't you'd probably get much different problems (YSOD, etc.)).