Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Adam Birkner 1 post 21 karma points
    Mar 28, 2012 @ 07:42
    Adam Birkner

Errors after installing using WPI

Hello,

I'm new to Umbraco. I've created a new website on my server on a subdomain and used WPI to install Umbraco.

First I installed Umbraco CMS 5 (2/12/12) and for simplicity used SQL CE

The install seemed to work and I was directed to /install/

On that page there are no styles many 404 errors. It's like everything is trying to be redirected to /login.aspx 

For example, I have 16 of these errors:

Failed to load resource: the server responded with a status of 404 (Not Found)http://design.mydomain.com/login.aspx?ReturnUrl=%2fAreas%2fInstall%2fContent%2fStyles%2fjquery-ui-1.8.6.custom.css

After trying with no luck several times I made another website and tried to install Umbraco CMS (1/11/12)

While not the same errors every link I click redirects me to /install/default.aspx (ex: http://umbraco.mydomain.com/install/default.aspx?redir=true&url=/install#single-tab4)

And Chrome shows an error Uncaught SyntaxError: Unexpected token < default.aspx:3 (it shows doctype starting there)

So in a last ditch effort I tried to open in VS2010 and debug and I recieve this build error: Error 18 Could not create type 'umbraco.webservices.documents.documentService'.

C:\[...]\umbraco\webservices\api\DocumentService.asmx 1

Does anyone know where I've gone wrong? Should I be doing a manual install vs a WPI install? I'm really excited to try the product out but so far the expierence has been disheartening.

Thanks for your help

-Adam

• Jan Skovgaard 11280 posts 23678 karma points MVP 11x admin c-trib
    Mar 28, 2012 @ 09:06
    Jan Skovgaard

Hi Adam - welcome to the community :)