Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at


  • Dany Wu 81 posts 114 karma points
    Jul 28, 2009 @ 03:02
    Dany Wu
    0

    "Single level" URL question

    I have recently upgraded from Umbraco 3 to the latest revision of Umbraco 4. I can't remember if I changed any settings on my previous Umbraco installation but all my URL appeared as "single level", regardless of the node level. I can have:

    -Content
      >Page1
        >SubPage1

    and the URL for SubPage1 is http://somedomain.com/SubPage1.aspx. However, in my current Umbraco 4 install it appears as http://somedomain.com/Page1/SubPage1.aspx. Is it possible to make it appear as it used to?

    Thanks,
    D.

  • Douglas Robar 3570 posts 4711 karma points MVP ∞ admin c-trib
    Jul 28, 2009 @ 04:36
    Douglas Robar
    3

    In the web.config file, set the following:

    <add key="umbracoHideTopLevelNodeFromPath" value="true" />

    It's the same setting in umbraco 4 as it was in umbraco 3.

    After changing this parameter you'll need to re-publish each page to re-generate the url. To do this, right-click on each of the top-level nodes (such as Page1 in your example) and select 'Publish'. Be sure to check the 'publish children' box as well.

    That should do it!

    cheers,
    doug.

  • Lee 1130 posts 3088 karma points
    Jul 28, 2009 @ 08:57
    Lee
    0

    Cool I didn't know you could do that... Thanks

  • Sebastiaan Janssen 5058 posts 15520 karma points MVP admin hq
    Jul 28, 2009 @ 09:31
    Sebastiaan Janssen
    0

    Very nice, but what happens if you make two documents with the same page name?

  • Dany Wu 81 posts 114 karma points
    Jul 28, 2009 @ 10:57
    Dany Wu
    0

    Thanks Doug, I knew about that one and had set it to true already. I guess I didn't describe it properly and my v3 website is somewhat different from v4 one. In my current v4 site I have a top level "container" page which redirects to the first subnode:

    -Content
      -RootLevel (Redirecting page)
        -Page1
            -SubPage1

    In this case SubPage1 still has Page1 in the URL. I guess this cannot be avoided as the config item only hides the top level node?

    @Sebastiaan, that issue can happen regardless of that config value though - I just tried it and managed to create another page on the same level, also called SubPage1...published with the same URL. If I navigate to that URL Umbraco seems to just serve the first document on that level with that name.

  • Douglas Robar 3570 posts 4711 karma points MVP ∞ admin c-trib
    Jul 28, 2009 @ 12:08
    Douglas Robar
    0

    You can over-ride the default URL (which is based on the hierarchy of the page in the content tree) if you create a docType property with the alias of  'umbracoUrlName' . Make it a textfield and enter the url (and path) to the page manually.

    See http://our.umbraco.org/wiki/reference/umbraco-best-practices/umbracourlname

    Or, an alternative... http://our.umbraco.org/wiki/reference/umbraco-best-practices/umbracourlalias

    cheers,
    doug.

Please Sign in or register to post replies

Write your reply to:

Draft