Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Adrian Randall 1 post 21 karma points
    Jun 07, 2012 @ 13:55
    Adrian Randall

Source Code Install/Setup/Tutorial

Hey,

I'm new to Umbraco and cant find any decent advice in this area.

I'd like to preferably setup Umbraco from the source code or set it up another way but still allow it to be run through Visual Studio.

I am wanting to use 4.7 source code as there is more support for it at the moment even though 5 is newer

Any suggestions of where to find good tutorials on setting up via source code or any other suggestions? I have all the resources to set Umbraco up just need the know how.

Thanks in advance

Adrian

• Craig Cronin 304 posts 503 karma points
    Jun 09, 2012 @ 01:03
    Craig Cronin

Hi Adrian,

Version 5 seems much nicer for working with visual studio and compiles into debug mode like a normal .net solution.  I have tried various different solutions to developing for version 4.

1. I have tried from the source code but it takes too long to compile and run based on the number of changes you need to make.  This i think is more if you want ot make changes to the core.

2. My latest setup involves having one solution which has the compiled version website in (Build turned off), also a separate project for developing user controls (With a build events for copying the relevant dlls to the umbraco folder)

With this solution you can always attach to process if you want to debug the user controls.

Hope this helps.

• Arman 16 posts 50 karma points
    Jun 14, 2012 @ 11:39
    Arman

HI, I have that issue too...

I need to customize the source code for my own needs, but I am wondered how to install and run the web presentation (UI) ?

It redirects me to the login page when I try to open the Install page... (http://localhost:SomePort/Install)

Can you help me and show me how to install the umbraco?