Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Levi Jackson 6 posts 26 karma points
    Jul 20, 2012 @ 20:27
    Levi Jackson

Moving from development to production on a different server SQL CE

I'm having some trouble moving from development to production. I did a straight copy of the files, updated permission so the application has read/write capabiltiies. The main issue right now is that I am being presented with the following error:

Error running Reader: 
    SQL Statement:
    select id, domainName from umbracoDomains

I used SQL CE in the hopes that it would all be self contained and easy to move. I've done a lot of reading on these forums and I have not found out an answer that works for me yet. I am relatively new to Umbraco and completely new to SQL CE, so is there something simple I may have overlooked?

To me it seems like the application does not have permission to read from the database, is there a way to confirm/disprove whether that is the issue?

Other notes:
    - I can get to the Umbraco login page, but the login info I have from development does not work.

Thanks for any help,
    Levi

• Daniel Bardi 927 posts 2562 karma points
    Jul 20, 2012 @ 22:00
    Daniel Bardi

Did you move the database over as well?  Also, when moving to production, do not copy client depenancy files.

Jul 20, 2012 @ 22:09
    Levi Jackson

I did move the Umbraco.sdf file over as well and updated permissions on it - is that all I would need to do to move the database over? Forgive my beginner-ness, what would the client dependent files be?  Should I have done a fresh install of Umbraco and moved just the css, js, masterpage, macros, etc.. over rather than also moving the App_Code, App_Data, etc...?

Jul 20, 2012 @ 22:27
    Daniel Bardi

No worries.. everyone's a beginner at sometime...  that is all that should be need to move the database.