Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Frederik T 234 posts 345 karma points
    Sep 04, 2012 @ 16:24
    Frederik T

Upgrading from 4.0.4.2 to 4.8.1 problems

Okay this might be a doozy

My company intranet is based on a dead old umbraco version 4.0.2.1 which they wanted to upgrade to the latest version, and that task was given to me.

I have never tried upgrading umbraco before but non the less, i upgraded it to 4.0.4.2 without much trouble (used this guide as reference http://our.umbraco.org/wiki/install-and-setup/upgrading-an-umbraco-installation )

From that version i tried to upgrade to 4.8.1, following the guide and trying to be as sensible as i could be when upgrading. Just a note, we made a copy of the installation and database to upgrade on.

After copying the files etc. i switched the web site on the IIS 6 server from .NET 2 to .NET 4.

Anyway, in short regardless of what i do i always get a 404. No matter which url, nothing happens.

I know this might be pretty vague, but is there something else not written in the upgrade instructions i should be aware of? Is there an IIS setting i missed? Note i am forced to use IIS 6 so no integrated pipeline mode.

I can also post the web.config or other config files if requested.

Thank you in advance.

• Tom Fulton 2030 posts 4998 karma points c-trib
    Sep 04, 2012 @ 16:29
    Tom Fulton

Hi Frederik,

Normally it's recommended to upgrade to each major version incrementally (-> 4.0.4.2 -> 4.5.0 -> 4.6.1 -> 4.7.0 -> 4.8.1).  I usually also upgrade to the highest patch release in each step, although it may not be necessary (ie 4.5.0 -> 4.5.2, 4.7.0 -> 4.7.2).