Webmatrix Webdeploy not publishing entire SQL Server database

Dev machine:
    Umbraco v. 4.11.1
    Installed via WebMatrix via Microsoft WPI
    Windows 7
    IIS7 Express
    SQL Server 2008 r2 Express
    .NET 4.0

Hosted on Amazon server deployed via Microsoft WebMatrix AMI (http://aws.amazon.com/windows/amis/)

I have run into a somewhat interesting problem.  When I publish my databse via webdeploy on webmatrix, there seems to be an issue with NULL entries in the template fields in my SQL database.  When the database publishes it seems to stop when it encounters a NULL field, but it is not giving any errors that I can see (I am a bit new to using SQL so I may be missing something obvious).  The NULL entries are due to top level templates in my site not having a master template selected from the drop-down box (None is selected) but they are pointing to the default.master template in the first line as such:

<%@ Master Language="C#" MasterPageFile="~/umbraco/masterpages/default.master" AutoEventWireup="true" %>

As I have limited expierence with SQL, this is only my best guess based on looking at the tables in the 'published' database on the server after running webdeploy from webmatrix.  I have gotten around this issue by using other tools to make a full SQL database backup, transferring the file to the hosting machine, and restoring the database from that backup.  This is rather tedious and annoying and I would like to know what is happening and how to stop it.  The interesting lines from the log file created by Webmatrix when publishing are as below:

1:45:13 PM: Adding child sqlScript (MSDeploy.Continous/dbFullSql[@path='server=.\SQLEXPRESS;database=umbraco_db;uid=umbraco_user']/sqlScript).
    1:45:13 PM: Opening SQL Connection with connection string 'data source=.\SQLEXPRESS;initial catalog=umbraco_db;user id=umbraco_user;pooling=False'. The 'transacted' setting for this connection is 'False'.
    1:46:18 PM: Publish completed.