Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• B Weaver 4 posts 24 karma points
    May 06, 2013 @ 20:57
    B Weaver

Newbie wanting to install version 4.7.x...

Hi there -- I am a noob wanting to install version 4.7.2 with WebMatrix 3.  

I've done my homework and have valid reasons  (I think) for my choice -- namely: 1) my shared hosting provider, GoDaddy, requires medium trust level permissions (ref: http://our.umbraco.org/wiki/recommendations/recommended-reading-for-it-administrators/minimum-system-requirements), 2) I have no particular need for MVC or Razor, and 3) the example CWS tutorials seemingly don't support any version past 4.7.x.

Thus, on my first pass at installing Umbraco via WebMatrix, it seemingly forces me to download and install Umbraco V6 .

Is there a way to bypass V6 altogether and run with 4.7.x?  I am not necessarily in love with WebMatrix, either, so I am game for other suggestions.  Why are the CWS tutorials, which seem excellent, so dang old?

Any tips would be greatly appreciated.  I get the sense that I am overlooking something simple.

--bopert

• Jan Skovgaard 11280 posts 23678 karma points MVP 11x admin c-trib
    May 06, 2013 @ 22:45
    Jan Skovgaard

Hi B Weaver

Why do you want to use 4.7 over 6.0.4? Keep in mind that most of the cool packages are compatible with this version and the underlying API is much easier to work with if you need to do integration to 3rd party services or need to hook into events etc.

V6 will also work with medium trust and you can still use XSLT if that's what you prefer since you mention you don't have need to use Razor or MVC. V6 still supports webforms as well, which is also the default engine if I remember correctly.