Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Mo 2 posts 22 karma points
    May 22, 2013 @ 07:10
    Mo

TinyMCE styles, styles dropdown and Umbraco

Hey there, I'm new to Umbraco and struggling a bit with the Styles dropdown in the TinyMCE editor.

I've searched the forum for an answer but nothing answers my questions just yet.

I have a project that uses SASS & Foundation to pump out a CSS file with styles used by the site that I want to appear in the editor. 

My editor.css file has simple styles like

h1.large{}
    .errorText{}
    etc

I've set the editor to use editor.css in the Rich Text Editor properties pane. I see the styles in my content, but the styles drop down remains empty.

Adding the styles via Umbraco is insufficient, because it re-writes the editor.css file completely, removing required CSS. Also using the manual method outlined on the TinyMCE site (http://www.tinymce.com/wiki.php/Configuration3x:theme_advanced_styles) doesn't work since Umbraco doesn't seem to have an init function, and it also doesn't work when I add it to tinyMceConfig.config using and is also tedious when you have hundreds of styles that need to be manually mapped and changed often.

I have also tried adding my editor.css file directly with:

<customConfig>
      <config key="content_css">./css/app.css</config>
    </customConfig>

However, this still doesn't populate the styles dropdown list, though does show the styles inside the editor window. 

So, is it possible to have Umbraco/TinyMCE use the classnames in my editor.css to populate the Styles dropdown on the TinyMCE editor? Basically all I want the editor to do is use the file supplied by my project.

• Jan Skovgaard 11280 posts 23678 karma points MVP 10x admin c-trib
    May 22, 2013 @ 22:21
    Jan Skovgaard

Hi Mo and welcome to our :)

You should add the styles in the settings section in the "stylesheets" folder.