Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Ana 18 posts 37 karma points
    Jun 05, 2013 @ 17:43
    Ana

Publishing into Linux

Hi,

I'm totally new at this. I'm testing Umbraco and so far, so good. My main question is this: I've done a web page with the basic templates that the tool offers. I've tested it in my computer (WIndows 7) and it works good. But I've published it, through WebMatrix, into a server with Lunix Fedora RedHat FC-17 and Apache 2.2.23.

At the beginning WebMatrix asked me if that server supported PHP and Java? Actually it does not has PHP installed. I've uploaded all the files, but when I enter the URL, i only see all the files correctly listed in directories, and the main page of my site does not appear. 

What do I need to install in my server so it can display correctly? Is my first time publishing in a Linux server. I'll be so thankful if you can help me with this.

Thanks in advance.

• Jan Skovgaard 11280 posts 23678 karma points MVP 11x admin c-trib
    Jun 05, 2013 @ 18:52
    Jan Skovgaard

Hi Ana and welcome to our :)

Umbraco is build on the .NET platform and can't therefore run on a server running Linux. You need to publish to a server running Server software from Microsoft.

You can read more about installing Umbraco manually in the documentation here http://our.umbraco.org/documentation/Installation/install-umbraco-manually

Hope this helps - Otherwise feel free to ask further questions.

Cheers,
    Jan 

Jun 05, 2013 @ 23:55
    Ana

Thank you very much Jan!

I had to try! Well, I'll publish the web page over a windows server and implement redirection.