Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Vince 5 posts 25 karma points
    Aug 09, 2013 @ 21:58
    Vince

I'm a new user of Umbraco and I have a problem ... to execute my site on local

I am a novice in creating website, although I've already created in 2000, but in pure HTML.

A friend asked me to look at how he could download his site and maintain it itself. I accepted because I remember it was simple.

I installed Filezilla and I download the site as a bkp site. I got pretty quickly realized that the site was created via microsoft tools. After a few questions, I understood that it was created with Webmatrix + Umbraco.

To stay as compatible as possible, I installed Webmatrix + Umbraco.

I placed a copy of the backup site in the path specified in Umbraco and I Click on "run" and it sent me on Umbraco website wondering "set up your new website."

As this is not a new site, I told myself that it was not the right method. So, I deleted all directories. I configured the FTP and I downloaded through Umbraco. The download had going well.

I redo "executed" and Umbraco referred me back to the website asking me "set up your new website."

I thinks that I forgot one step but which?

As I am a beginner and the site has been created by a other guy. And it is therefore more than maintenance, I will like know how I had to do for viewing the site directly on my PC without read all the wiki or forum, a link to the right place wiki will be very appreciate (I have great difficulty with English and there are a lot of informations).

Could you spent a little of your time for me and give me advice, methodes, configuration information (that I don't saw), ...

Many thanks per advance

• Arie 224 posts 675 karma points
    Aug 09, 2013 @ 22:18
    Arie

Welcome to Umbraco! It's a great choice, although it's not as easy as some other options. In return, you get a much better system, though.