Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Ed Johnson 8 posts 58 karma points
    Oct 17, 2013 @ 15:18
    Ed Johnson

Cannot see Content Nodes after moving database to stagging

Hello friends,

Let me begin by saying that I am fairly new to Umbraco, so please forgive me if this question is trivial. I have been working on a site locally for a while, now the rest of my development team needs access to my project. To do this, we moved the database to a stagging server and we are using a repo for the project files. 

Locally everything works as expected; however, once we moved the database to the stagging server, we can't access, or see, any of the main Content nodes, that is the childern of the Content directory in the admin page, which are essentially all of our pages. 

Strangely, however, we can see everything else, our scripts, macros, templates, etc., just not the main Content Nodes. We thought it could be a permissions issue, however, after following this post: http://our.umbraco.org/wiki/install-and-setup/set-umbraco-folder-permissions-from-command-line, the problem remains. 

Also, if we change the connection string and make it reference the local copy of the database, everything goes back to normal.

Another thing  I think is worth mentioning: Our local database, the one we started the project with, was built using SQL Server 2012 while the stagging server database was built using genereated scripts of the original database in SQL Server 2008. When the query executed, we got several foreign key errors, but all the data seemed to be there. Could this be the issue?

I hope someone can help us with this issue, as we are on a tight schedule.

Thank you so much in advance for your help!

• Rich Green 2246 posts 4008 karma points
    Oct 17, 2013 @ 15:24
    Rich Green

Hey Ed,

I would check your permissions, both file & DB permissions.