Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Sas Jacobs 2 posts 22 karma points
    Nov 04, 2013 @ 06:31
    Sas Jacobs

Fails to run on production "Object reference not set to an instance of an object"

Hello

I am an experienced developer but this is my first Umbraco web site - v6.1.3. I have created the site locally using VS2010 without problems under ASP.NET 4 with a SQL Server 2008 database. I created content, data types, templates, XSLT etc without a problem.

But the problems started when I deployed to production.I did this by publishing using FTP from Visual Studio. I have published twice with the same result each time. I get the YSOD and "Exception Details: System.NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object."

The stacktrace shows the following.

NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.]
       Umbraco.Web.UmbracoModule.BeginRequest(HttpContextBase httpContext) +14
       Umbraco.Web.UmbracoModule.<Init>b__5(Object sender, EventArgs e) +262
       System.Web.SyncEventExecutionStep.System.Web.HttpApplication.IExecutionStep.Execute() +148
       System.Web.HttpApplication.ExecuteStep(IExecutionStep step, Boolean& completedSynchronously) +7

I have checked that database has been deployed correctly and I am able to change the database connection string in the local web.config to connect to the production database from the localhost. It works fine from localhost.

In fact, I've changed all the settings in the local web.config to match those in production but nothing has changed.

I'm struggling with how else to tackle this problem.

Can anyone point me in the right direction or give me a solution?

Thanks in advance!

• Dan Lister 416 posts 1974 karma points c-trib
    Nov 04, 2013 @ 09:58
    Dan Lister