Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• skiltz 501 posts 701 karma points
    Oct 13, 2009 @ 09:13
    skiltz

Installing Umbraco on Plesk + Site Preview

With plesk you can preview a site using the "site preview" button.

When you click this button you get a url like http://xxx.xx.xx.xx/$sitepreview/mydomain.com/default.aspx 

I'm pretty sure the $ in the url is causing Umbraco grief and I can't get to the install page or default page.

Does anyone have any experience with this?  Obivously the simple soution is to get a "real domain" pointed but this isn't an option at the moment.

Oct 13, 2009 @ 09:14
    skiltz

Hmmm that url didn't turn out.  Hover you mouse over it to see the Url I am referring to.

• jonok 297 posts 657 karma points
    Oct 13, 2009 @ 10:03
    jonok

I've never tried that before, but when I set up temporary or dev sites I usually ask my hosting provider to set up a temporary url for me using a domain alias. Eg. if my hosting company has the domain 'www.hostingcompany.com', then they usually set up something like 'tempname.hostingcompany.com'. 

• Stephan Lonntorp 195 posts 212 karma points
    Oct 13, 2009 @ 10:50
    Stephan Lonntorp

I've use Plesk on several occasions, and, yes the $ in the url has a tendency to mess things up. I use jonok's approach of using an alternate domain as well. In Plesk it's done by adding a "Domain Alias", I usually go with sitename.demo.mydomain.com, that way I also have an understandable URL that my client can use to see what they're getting before we go live.

• Dan 1285 posts 3917 karma points c-trib
    Oct 13, 2009 @ 11:20
    Dan

I had the exact same issue.  I had to use a temporary domain which was live, as the Plesk preview just would not work.

Oct 13, 2009 @ 11:29
    skiltz