Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• David Hammer 41 posts 67 karma points
    Jan 08, 2014 @ 10:05
    David Hammer

Getting my umbraco project up on a new site

Hi there..

Read this, as if I am a complete beginner, because I am. Some of it might sound like I know what I'm talking about, but really I don't. I might explain some of it in too much detail, where you'll think, "Why do I need to know this?", but as I see it, to give a complete overview of my problem is the only way to go, both for my own sake, but also for you to understand my current problem/dilemma better.

My problem is as follows:

The beginning: I got a new job, developing an umbraco web project for a company. The project is a magazine website, where different old articles and magazines can be imported. I got an incomplete website from the employee before me, and had to finish it.

It had most of the functionaly, but lacked some major parts and the total design.

I had a month with the old employee, for him to hand the project over in a safe and correct way, and it all went rather smoothly.

Now I'm stuck at a critical place in the development, that I see no way to finish it, and it all comes down to two things:

The project is created as a Visual Studio 2012 project with a "local" database, without any connection strings.. I mean to say that I don't remember what kind of database I use. (this might sound noobish, because I am a noob, and have obviously made a lot actions without knowing what would or could happen).

Then theres the part about having to "publish/install" the project on a webserver (if that is even what it's called).. What I mean is that I have this project with some sort of local database attached to it. I have to get that project up (via ftp or something else) on a domain so that the organization can test it with me.