Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Arvind 3 posts 23 karma points
    Jun 07, 2014 @ 10:52
    Arvind

help required - umbraco deployment in azure websites and sql azure

Hi,

I am new to umbraco and I tried to create an application using it . I created an empty mvc application in visual studio 2013 and add UmbracoCms nuget package. When I ran the app it asked for installation and is successfully installed  in a local SQL CE database. 

I added the required Controller ( inheriting SurfaceController) and the model required in my partial view . The project compiled and the page worked fine.

Now I need to deploy this site to Microsoft azurewebsites. When I publish the site from visual studio publish option(I specify the website name, sql azure db name and credentials ) to azure the whole publish process gets successfully done. When I browse the site it goes the page that reads "Looks like there's still work to do" and when I click the "Set up your new website" button it goes to the login page "http://XXXXX.azurewebsites.net/umbraco#/login/false". I don't have the credentials since this is a new deployment and I also tried the local one but it did not work either. I believe that the sql azure db is not setup for this. I was of the opinion that when I run the site it willl take me to the installation page . But it did not.

Any help on this would be really appreciated.

Thanks.

• Magnus Janson 14 posts 74 karma points
    Jun 07, 2014 @ 11:45
    Magnus Janson

Hi Arvind,

I am also a new to these things. With that said, here is how I did it.

1. Create an Azure SQL db.
    2. When running the Umbraco site for the first time, select Customize (or something like that). Then you can select your Azure SQL as your Umbraco db. All details about the database are found in the Azure portal.