Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• hickoryFornander 32 posts 52 karma points
    Nov 23, 2009 @ 10:59
    hickoryFornander

Database connection initialisation failed. The installer cannot connect to the database

Hi!

I am new to Umbraco and to sql servers, just trying to install it on my computer to learn how it works. But so far I have had some problems with the database. I have set up a database "umbraco" on sql server 2008 and created a login user. Got Umbraco down by using Wndows web installer, but I can not get it to install. First it gave me an error saying that it was not alllowed to create Tables (something about SQLHelper) , and short after that Visual Studio Just-In-Time Debugger started asking me if I wanted to debug. Got to the point of looking over the rights for the sql user, but now the error message has changed to "Database connection initialisation failed. The installer cannot connect to the database."

Anyone who knows where I should start?

(I am also wondering if there is any problems using umraco on Windows 7?)

Would be great! :)

• Chris Houston 535 posts 980 karma points MVP admin c-trib
    Nov 23, 2009 @ 11:15
    Chris Houston

Hi,

You should not have problems installing on Windows 7.

If you already have SQL server installed, all you need so the main account details, make sure you can log into the SQL server with the details.

You do not need an actual database already created as the Umbraco installation will create a database for you, this might be the reason you are receiving the above errors.

When the installation asks for a database name, just give it a new name so that it can create a fresh database for you, that way you should not get permission issues.

Cheers,

Chris

Nov 24, 2009 @ 04:38
    hickoryFornander