Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• mariehdb 3 posts 23 karma points
    Sep 06, 2014 @ 14:49
    mariehdb

the most basic questions ever, probably

Hi everyone!

So I'm a WP user who's tired of security issues. I'm not a developer, I'm a blogger and website owner.

A few years ago I did use Umbraco a bit because an agency I was working with had used it to build my employer's website. So now that I'm looking at alternative solutions for WP, Umbraco came back to my mind. Drupal did, too (I'm belgian!) but it looks like more technical skills are required and the learning curve is longer.

So here I am with my stupid question : I am a Mac User. Can I easily install Umbraco on a hosting service and then work on it from my Mac? And also, what kind of hosting must I look for? Will my current apache php-mysql config I use for WP be compatible or do I need something else.

Please don't tell me I need to purchase a Windows license and install that on my Mac, it would be expensive and depressing.

Thanks a lot for your help and suggestions!

• Dennis Aaen 4500 posts 18255 karma points admin hq c-trib
    Sep 06, 2014 @ 21:33
    Dennis Aaen

Hi mariehdb and welcome to our,

If you install Umbraco on a hosting service, you can access the Umbraco backoffice from your browser on your Mac. In there you can do most of the things that you need to do for buliding up a website in Umbraco. But if you need to extend your Umbraco with e.g a new section or something like that you need you have Windows because Umbrco is build on- and use .NET. 

But if it´s only a basic site, you should be good a your Mac with access the backoffice in your browser. From the browser you can edit and create files in the Umbraco UI for e.g navations, and so on.