Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Lefteris Trichakis 12 posts 58 karma points
    Sep 22, 2014 @ 17:10
    Lefteris Trichakis

Azure Websites Multiple Instances experiments. (is that easy?)

Hello there,

I have to share a little story (and worries) with you.

I read this fine article about umbraco multiple instances in azure cloud services.

But I started playing with azure websites and multiple instances in order to get some ideas.

So I got a 7.1.6 working localy on VS 2013 and deployed to an azure website and azure sql with bacpac.

Then I scaled up to 3 Standard instances in order to start playing. In order to test that I'm on different instance, I loaded /umbraco in a chrome on my machine, and another chrome on a server of mine, and verified that I have different ARR Cookies.

So far so good, and the no-sync issue of published content cache arrived of course. A simple page with a richtext editor and a media forder list macro, were different after publish.

I grabed and implemented the cache sync technique from this fine article (Section: Scale With Multiple Web Role Instances) which is writing a GUID on an umbraco node called settings, and then on each BeginRequest is checking if current instance guid is the same, or then call library.RefreshContent().

So far so good, I made the code to check each 60 seconds for sync. I uploaded the nesesary dll for the sync and started playing again.

Sync resolved, and happy to publish from different ARR and view new published content after 60 seconds.

I didn't implement any media sync through azure storage. I upload media from one instance, and see it on the other without a touch. I cant believe it as I was sure that media needs an approach like AST did or something else.