Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• digitalslacker 6 posts 26 karma points
    Dec 10, 2009 @ 21:04
    digitalslacker

Installed Umbraco fine, but I can'd do anything in the admin...

umbraco 4.0.3 (Assembly version: 1.0.3625.27276)

asp.net 2.0

IIS 6.0 (hosted so it's virtual)

I managed to get Umbraco installed for the first time. When I open up the admin and login I get all the sections (Content, Media etc) but if i click on one of them nothing happens.

I know that descriptive but basically the page reloads and nothing changes. All sections behave this way.

If i right click on tree i get a little gray box for a second but then it disappears. 

I have tried this in the 3 browsers, latest IE, FF and Chrome. 

I re-checked my permissions and it says everything is ok....

I'm brand new to umbraco so it's very possible that i'm missing something simple but I would appreciate any help you guys could offer.

I searched both forums first but this is a tough problem to describe so it a similar post already exists I was not able to find it but I apologize is this is a re-post. 

thanks!

• jaygreasley 416 posts 403 karma points
    Dec 11, 2009 @ 09:10
    jaygreasley

Hi there,

You say it is hosted, so my first check would be that your host has set up your IIS site correctly, Umbraco requires full trust and can not be a virtual directory, it needs to be an IIS site.

hth

jay

Dec 11, 2009 @ 13:26
    digitalslacker

I had to play with the permissions in order to get it installed.

when i run the permissions checker that someone posted in another thread it says everything is fine. 

It's not in a virtual directory, it's in a sub domain but it's a separate instance of IIS

I'm hosting with a company called Doster but they have a similar backend hosting management system as Go Daddy I believe.

I think it uses Parallels Automation....but i could be wrong about that.