Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Giuseppe 11 posts 30 karma points
    Jan 01, 2015 @ 17:20
    Giuseppe

New of Umbraco, how to move on host an Umbraco website...Help!

Hallo guys, I'm starting to study the majestic Umbraco Cms, I really love it! Now I'd like to move online a basic website on my hosting space (TopHost)... The problem is, I already tried with Webmatrix by IIS but I was not able to do it, I take always the same error, connection timeout. But I've verified the right user and password of my webserver, and I used Ftp like transfer method. I''m a bit confused, in another post the suggestion was to not upload all Umbraco package folders, and I'm too surprised about the weight of a final Umbraco website....45Mb? Is right? I hope to don't be stupid with my questions, but I appreciate a lot if someone can explain me the right way to do it, I'm a web designer with basics knowledges about Databases and related stuff, but I'd love to make Umbraco my new developing amazing way to build websites. I need a step to step guide to make my websites working on host space, Thanks a lot for everybody will help me!!

HAPPY NEW YEAR ;)

• Davide Oliva 35 posts 199 karma points
    Jan 02, 2015 @ 11:00
    Davide Oliva

Ciao Giuseppe and Happy 2015!

Can I ask you some question?

- Which kind of hosting package do you have on tophost and which version of Windows does it have?

- Which version of Umbraco are you trying to install?

Davide

Jan 02, 2015 @ 12:08
    Giuseppe

OS LINUX WEBSERVER APACHE Php 5.4.4

I'm trying to move live a local installed empty package...of Umbraco 7.2

Thanks Davide, but are you italian?;)

Jan 02, 2015 @ 13:13
    Davide Oliva

Yes, i'm italian! :)

As reported in this page: http://our.umbraco.org/documentation/Installation/system-requirement, Umbraco 7.x needs:

• IIS 7+ (II6 may still work but is untested)
    • SQL CE, SQL Server 2008 and higher