Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Richard Bale 7 posts 39 karma points
    Mar 09, 2015 @ 15:14
    Richard Bale

Moving Umbraco to new server and error all over website

Hi, we recently took over a website which uses Umbraco and is hosted on a new Windows Server 2008 (IIS7), I have been unable to get past the error 'Object reference not set to an instance of an object'. This error occurs on every page that I try and view and this is my first time using Windows Server 2008 and Umbraco (I am a Linux apache / nginx man myself) and I have no idea how to solve this.

From the old hosting company I got the files zip and DB .bak file and the advice to 'raise the permissions of the Umbraco user in the DB'. I have got the website set-up in IIS 7 and got FTP working so got the files up and was able to restore the DB backup in SQL Server 2012.

Today I found the Umbraco installation guide here (Guide Link) and followed the step to change the permissions on the folder and set-up the DB but when I created the new DB login I got a message saying that the user already existed (the DB user did already exist).

There were some .bin file version conflicts but I was able to solve them and the files I got from the old host didn't have any Umbraco config values in the web.config which meant I got a 'MVC Area path without the umbracoPathspecified' error. Setting this: '<add key="umbracoPath" value="/umbraco" /> (amongst other things) in web.config solved that error.

I do not know which version of Umbraco is being used and I did investigate ways to find out but was unable to get anywhere

Thanks for any help anyone can give me and apologies if I have just missed something basic, I have put the Stack Trace I get on some pages below:

On the homepage I get the following Stack Trace:

[InvalidOperationException: Cannot create an MVC Area path without the umbracoPath specified]