Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Marcelo S. 12 posts 57 karma points
    Mar 13, 2015 @ 16:11
    Marcelo S.

Umbraco 7.2.2 and MySql Database

Hi everyone!

I'm quite new in Umbraco's world, I'm still learning all features and possibilities. But I'm really enjoying it!!!

One of the things that made me choose to learn the Umbraco Cms was the option to install it in MySQL, but today I tried to install the Umbraco 7.2.2 in MySql.... without success!

I read some posts here saying that the MySql support by Umbraco team is not been maintained for a long time. The strange thing is that on the website at the section "System Requirements" there is support for MySql on Umbraco 7.x.x.

My question is: Is there some Umbraco version which I can install in MySql without errors? Someone could help me with my 7.2.2 installation? (I didn't find how to attach files, to send my log file. If necessary and possible, I can post the full log here)

Thank you.

• Jan Skovgaard 11280 posts 23678 karma points MVP 10x admin c-trib
    Mar 13, 2015 @ 16:49
    Jan Skovgaard

Hi Marcelo and welcome to our :)

Unfortunately the MySQL support has suffered during the last couple of years since it's hard to maintain. There also is a downside of using MySQL if you want to rely on some of the nice 3rd party packages for Umbraco, which rely on MSSQL and don't offer MySQL support. I think it's possible to fix the MySQL issues though since it seem some people have been able to install Umbraco 7.x.x on MySQL databases...but I'm not sure it's a good idea in the long run unless a fraction of the community is interested in maintaining a project that enables MySQL support.

So I'm afraid that is bad news if you were betting on using Umbraco on MySQL. But I think it's important to keep in mind that using MySQL could exclude some 3rd party add-ons from working too.