Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Raj 4 posts 54 karma points
    Apr 01, 2015 @ 22:07
    Raj

Async error installing Umbraco 7.2.4 using NuGet

Hi,

I've been evaluating Umbraco for the past couple of days! I've watched a lot of videos on Umbraco.tv and read a lot of articles.

In terms on manually setting up the 7.2.4 manually on IIS and SQL Server - I thought it was a breeze. Very impressed from a user perspective in terms of how some of the guys in my team can utilise the CMS, it seems very flexible.

My overall aim is to start to move some of of websites across to Umbraco. However, some of these sites may need some custom extension/developing in terms of third party integration. Hence a developer, I want to feel confident with the model of Umbraco in terms of extension to do some of these things.

I've been maintaining a bespoke CMS system for nearly 7 years and I need to migrate to something more flexible... come in (hopefully) Umbraco.

Anyhow - setting up manually from a zip - was a breeze. But going through the videos in terms of setting up Umbraco in VS2013 - I just haven't got it to work. After 4 hours - I am now a little fustrated, hence my first post for help!

Running from VS I get this error:

An asynchronous operation cannot be started at this time. Asynchronous operations may only be started within an asynchronous handler or module or during certain events in the Page lifecycle. If this exception occurred while executing a Page, ensure that the Page is marked <%@ Page Async="true" %>. This exception may also indicate an attempt to call an "async void" method, which is generally unsupported within ASP.NET request processing. Instead, the asynchronous method should return a Task, and the caller should await it.

I also tried publishing the website and noticed the Umbraco assemblies were not also being copied to the target bin folder?