Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Pedro Henriques 3 posts 23 karma points
    May 13, 2015 @ 10:27
    Pedro Henriques

Help Umbraco 4.6

Hello,

I am not a developer, I am a site owner who kinda got "tricked" by a developer that made got me a solution using Umbraco and then didn't give me the proper support. The thing is I am using a very dated version of Umbraco (4.6) and I reckon that is maybe the problem.

The host were I have the website (Aspnix) is also failing to give necessary support and they say if I want better support I should go for a dedicated server. Until some point, it's fair.

Aspnix upgraded to IIS 8.5 and all of a sudden I stopped getting access to Umbraco over the web. I only get the login page, I log in and then I get a blank webpage and that's it. I find that weird. Should I really be oblidged to upgrade Umbraco because of IIS? Because Aspnix tells me it's the only change they made to the webservers on that date.

Folder permission are still full trust so shouldn't be a problem.

Sorry about this messy post but I am kinda of a newb regarding this integration "stuff" and really swimming in the fog about Umbraco.

Can someone point me in the right direction? Because I am running the code locally, point the connection string to the server and updating my website like this and it's MAD!

Thank you so much in advance.

Regards,

Pedro

• Jan Skovgaard 11280 posts 23678 karma points MVP 10x admin c-trib
    May 13, 2015 @ 10:54
    Jan Skovgaard

Hi Pedro and welcome to our :)

Sorry to hear about the situation that you're currently facing.

I think it's probably likely that Umbraco 4.6 is not able to work with IIS 8.5 - However I have not tried making a setup to check it out. But I known that older versions of Umbraco 4.0 for instance will not work with IIS7. So it's probably the same scenario here.