Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Nick 8 posts 28 karma points
    Jan 18, 2010 @ 14:21
    Nick

Anyone EVER managed to run Umbraco 4 on Godaddy ? - Recommend me other hosts ?

Hi guys,

I'm a student in computer science and I was looking for the best .Net CMS, Umbraco I think is really awesome compared to dotnetnuke I tried before.

I finally finished developping my personal umbraco website on my localhost, and uploaded a fresh umbraco 4.03 to my godaddy root + net 3.5 web config file, setting ROOT and all folders ALL permissions to WRITE+READ and config can still not be written in the install, I read stuff about the Network user but you don't have access to that on godaddy.

So, my questions:

- Has anyone here EVER ran an Umbraco 4 on godaddy, if yes , can you help me ? (I sucessfully ran dotnetnuke on this account before)

- If it is impossible due to permission issues, recommend me the best/cheapest (I'm a student) host. (I read about softsyshosting here, looks good, any others better ?)

Jan 18, 2010 @ 14:55
    Nick

Also, if no one recommends a better host, can someone please confirm that I will be 100% able to run Umbraco 4 on a SoftSys shared hosting Starter Plan ? Godaddy is sort of a mess anyway, I wouldn't mind switching to something else.

• Jamie Howarth 306 posts 773 karma points c-trib
    Jan 18, 2010 @ 15:06
    Jamie Howarth

You can run Umbraco 4.0.3 on GoDaddy shared using this download (Note: unofficial and unsupported, use at own risk, no disclaimers, warranties, claims of fitness for purpose or suitability etc.)

Otherwise you have to switch to using a virtual dedicated or dedicated server as current published Umbraco builds only run in Full Trust.

Best,

Benjamin

• Timsn 121 posts 231 karma points
    Jan 18, 2010 @ 15:06
    Timsn