Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Chantal 4 posts 74 karma points
    Aug 17, 2015 @ 21:27
    Chantal

Install Visual Studio incomplete?

Hi,

I'm new to Umbraco.

I've tried to install Umbraco several times from NuGet in Visual Studio. There are no errors but it seems like most of the solution is missing. I only get the 'Config' and 'Views' folder, all other folders are missing. I can run it however... Seems to work ok, I just can't develop anything without the directories available in Visual Studio. I started using VS2015, but also in VS2013 and VS2013 with 2012 template no luck. Even tried an older version of Umbraco (newest right now is 7.2.8).

What am I doing wrong here?

Second question: I used VS2015 to set up Umbraco in Azure. Besides the missing folders, everything went well. I had to set up Umbraco locally and pointed it to the Azure database. Deployed it to Azure, no errors. Funny thing here is that locally, both front view and admin panel are working fine, but in Azure, only the admin panel works, the website on the front is empty. I guess setting up Umbraco locally before (being able to) deploy it to Azure causes a problem in the link between admin panel and front end. Any idea where I can find that setting and/or how to solve this problem?

• Lars-Erik Aabech 349 posts 1100 karma points MVP 7x c-trib
    Aug 18, 2015 @ 09:56
    Lars-Erik Aabech

The "missing folders" are copied into the project folder when you build the first time. They aren't included in the project (so they're hidden in VS), because that could lead to source control messes, modified core files and whatnot.

If you did everything right (Create empty ASP.NET site, install-package UmbracoCms), then you should be able to start (with/without debugging), complete the web-based install-wizard and deploy (like you probably did).