Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• manwood 87 posts 109 karma points
    Feb 14, 2010 @ 17:26
    manwood

Getting started - how to move CWS/Runway into Visual Studio?

Ok, so I'm new to Umbraco, I can see broadly how sites are put together by looking at CWS for example.

Now if I want to build my site in Visual Studio how do I go about it? How do you bridge from an IDE to the format that Umbraco needs?

Thanks

• Kim Andersen 1447 posts 2196 karma points MVP
    Feb 14, 2010 @ 17:53
    Kim Andersen

Hi Manwood

Actually all of the files that you need to use in your Umbraco-solution is on your disc. This means that you can create a new solution/project or just open the files from "Open WebSite" in Visual studio.

The nodes in the content-tree, document types, media types etc. is stored in the database. The templates are stored in the database, and refers to some physical files in the masperpages-folder on the disc.

Hope this helps you, otherwise just say so :)

/Kim A

• Douglas Robar 3570 posts 4711 karma points MVP ∞ admin c-trib
    Feb 14, 2010 @ 19:45
    Douglas Robar

As Kim says, you can "open" the website in VS.

From there you can edit the templates (.net master templates), js, css, xslt, app_code, and all the config files for your site. Umbraco will notice when the files change on disk and update the database accordingly. Or if you change content of these files through the umbraco ui the disk will be changed as well. It's a 2-way sync.

But the content itself is stored in the database and only editable via the umbraco ui or with the umbraco api.