Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• karin 3 posts 23 karma points
    Feb 14, 2010 @ 23:07
    karin

Newbie – need some help to get on track

Hi,

I am complete newbie to just about everything that has to do with CMS and Umbraco (apart from quite good knowledge of HTML, CCS and some basic classic ASP). But I just got thrilled getting myself updated.

So I have been reading the “Complete Newbie's Guide To Umbraco”, seen a bunch of the very helpful instruction films and spent hours and hours today reading this forum and all installation- and get started information I could find.

However, there are some fundamental things I do not get. I apologize if these questions might be very obvious or completely misunderstood :)

- Firstly, it seems like all installation guides and instructions focus on installing the system locally. But I find hardly any information on installation or publishing to my web hosting account. I guess I’ll have to do more than just upload the resulting “project files”? I do not really see the work flow process….

- Also, is it always the case that you start by developing the site locally before publishing, or can I get started at the web host right away?

- I am on a very tight budget but found a host providing MySQL for a (suspiciously) low cost. I assume that I have to install a MySQL database locally as well – or can I appoint my hosted one also when working on my pc?

Greatful for any help I can get.

// Karin

• Paul Blair 466 posts 731 karma points
    Feb 14, 2010 @ 23:51
    Paul Blair

Hi Karin,

It is usually best to do most of the development work locally first - especially if you are new to Umbraco. You should also install MySQL locally (or use SQL Express which is also free). Once you have it working locally the process for moving to a web host is:

- set up a website on your host

- set up the DB on your host