Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at


  • Ross Ekberg 75 posts 202 karma points
    Jan 11, 2016 @ 22:17
    Ross Ekberg
    0

    Upgrade from 6.1.X to 7.3.X

    I currently am running v6.1.6 and want to upgrade to the latest stable release, which appears to be v7.3.4. The upgrade instructions would seem to imply that I need to upgrade to 7.0.0 first, then from 7.0.0 to 7.3.4. Is this correct? Or can I go from 6.1.6 directly to 7.3.4? Or is there a different option?

  • Dennis Aaen 4440 posts 17904 karma points admin hq c-trib
    Jan 12, 2016 @ 10:56
    Dennis Aaen
    0

    Hi Ross,

    Have you seen the upgrade documentation, we have a general upgrade documentation and a version specific. https://our.umbraco.org/documentation/Getting-Started/Setup/Upgrading/

    And yes I think that it would be a god idea to upgrade to version 7 first, following this guide https://our.umbraco.org/documentation/Getting-Started/Setup/Upgrading/upgrading-to-v7

    After this then take the little jump up to Umbraco 7.3.4

    Hope this helps,

    /Dennis

  • Saad 7 posts 58 karma points
    Jan 12, 2016 @ 11:11
    Saad
    0

    I have recently upgraded a site from version 6.16 to 7.3.2. I ran into a few issues with the upgrade. I had to ran some scripts to clean the content with the content type = 0. Below is the script I ran before I started the upgrade in case you get a similar issue....

    BEGIN TRAN DELETE FROM dbo.cmsContentVersion WHERE contentid in ( SELECT nodeid FROM [dbo].[cmsContent] WHERE [contentType] = 0)

    DELETE FROM dbo.cmsMember WHERE nodeid in ( SELECT nodeid FROM [dbo].[cmsContent] WHERE [contentType] = 0)

    DELETE FROM [dbo].[cmsContent] WHERE [contentType] = 0

    Print 'Deleted content with content type = 0'

    update umbracoNode set uniqueID = newid() from ( select id, uniqueID from umbracoNode where uniqueID in ( select uniqueID from umbracoNode group by uniqueID having count(*) > 1) ) n where umbracoNode.id = n.id

    Print 'Assigned New Id to duplicate UmbracoNodes'

  • Ross Ekberg 75 posts 202 karma points
    Jan 12, 2016 @ 13:55
    Ross Ekberg
    0

    Saad, did you have to upgrade from 6.1.6 to 7.0.0, then upgrade to 7.3.2, as Dennis suggests?

    You are deleting content with a content type of zero (0). Why are those content types there if you can just delete them? You said you ran into a few issues. What are the others?

    Thanks for your advice!

  • Saad 7 posts 58 karma points
    Jan 12, 2016 @ 14:44
    Saad
    0

    I upgraded straight to 7.3.2 using an nuget package.

    I followed the instructions on (https://our.umbraco.org/documentation/Getting-Started/Setup/Upgrading/upgrading-to-v7).

    We have some legacy content which needs cleaning but for some reasons there were some rows in cmscontent table that had a contentype with the value 0.

    The other issues I ran into were expected...

    The custom user controls in the back office were not working. I had to convert them to angular based controls.

    Some of the partial views in the site were broken which were easy to fix.

    Ucomponent doesn't work but most of the controls are part of Umbraco core now.

    Damp component is no longer supported but the Core media picker in Umbraco 7 is good enough for what I wanted.

    Image crop didn't work automatically so we had to upload the images again to resize.

    One control that is not in the Core is Multi Url picker from ucomponent for which I used (http://umbracodevelopers.sdesign1dev.co.uk/2014/8/27/rjp-multi-url-picker/).

    Below is the script to rearrange data from ucomponent multi url picker to RJB...

    update cpd SET dataNtext= Replace( Replace( Replace( Replace( Replace( Replace( Replace(convert(nvarchar(2000),dataNtext),'{','[{') ,'}','}]') ,'"NewWindow":false','"icon": "settingTemplate.gif"') ,'"Title"','"name"') ,'"NodeId"','"id"') ,'"Url"','"url"') ,'"Mode":2,','') from cmsPropertyType cpt JOIN cmsContentType ct ON cpt.contentTypeId = ct.nodeId JOIN cmsPropertyData cpd ON cpd.propertytypeid = cpt.id where cpt.datatypeid=4399 AND dataNtext IS NOT NULL

    Print 'Rearrange JSON for MultiUrlPicker RJB'

  • Lokesh kumar Chippada 44 posts 249 karma points
    Feb 26, 2016 @ 12:00
    Lokesh kumar Chippada
    0

    Below is the script to rearrange data from ucomponent multi url picker to RJB...

    update cpd SET dataNtext= Replace( Replace( Replace( Replace( Replace( Replace( Replace(convert(nvarchar(2000),dataNtext),'{','[{') ,'}','}]') ,'"NewWindow":false','"icon": "settingTemplate.gif"') ,'"Title"','"name"') ,'"NodeId"','"id"') ,'"Url"','"url"') ,'"Mode":2,','') from cmsPropertyType cpt JOIN cmsContentType ct ON cpt.contentTypeId = ct.nodeId JOIN cmsPropertyData cpd ON cpd.propertytypeid = cpt.id where cpt.datatypeid=4399 AND dataNtext IS NOT NULL

    Print 'Rearrange JSON for MultiUrlPicker RJB'

    Hi Can you please elaborate ?

    I need to use previous xml from Ucomponents by replacing with MultiUrlPicker RJB

  • Ross Ekberg 75 posts 202 karma points
    Jan 12, 2016 @ 15:02
    Ross Ekberg
    0

    Uh, there are several things you stated that I am not clear as to what they are. Such as:

    ucomponent, angular based controls, Damp component

    Could you possibly give me a brief description of what these are? Perhaps I already know but don't know their proper names.

  • Saad 7 posts 58 karma points
    Jan 12, 2016 @ 15:12
    Saad
    0

    Ucomponent was the data types we were using in the previous versions of Umbraco (http://ucomponents.org/)

    Similarly DAMP is another component that was used (https://our.umbraco.org/projects/backoffice-extensions/digibiz-advanced-media-picker)

    I could not get my old webforms (ascx) control to work in Umbraco 7 Back office site so I had to rewrite them.(https://our.umbraco.org/documentation/Tutorials/Creating-a-Property-Editor/0)

  • Ross Ekberg 75 posts 202 karma points
    Jan 12, 2016 @ 15:33
    Ross Ekberg
    0

    Are you saying that ASCX files don't work in v7? I have several user controls in the admin and on the front end.

  • Ross Ekberg 75 posts 202 karma points
    Jan 14, 2016 @ 17:05
    Ross Ekberg
    0

    I have gotten v7.3.4 running. Though, there are many things that aren't working. I changed the umbracosettings.config to use WebForms as the default. I checked some of the macros and some of them seem to work. Right now, I am trying to get Contour working. I am currently getting the error: No provider with id '04067c46-ca1a-11de-8958-2c4456d89593' found.

    Does anyone have any idea what that might be?

Please Sign in or register to post replies

Write your reply to:

Draft