Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Mike Rowe 9 posts 109 karma points
    Feb 18, 2016 @ 18:00
    Mike Rowe

The type or namespace name 'MyFirstForm' could not be found

I'm new to Umbraco and all associated technologies. It is for that reason, I find the tutorials very valuable. I have followed the instructions in the tutorial in Documentation=>Getting Started=> Code =>Creating Forms, very carefully.

I have a document called "Generic" that uses the view (GenericContactForm.cshtml) that loads the Partial View:

@inherits Umbraco.Web.Mvc.UmbracoTemplatePage
    @{
    Layout = null;
    }
    @using MyFirstForm.Models;
       @{
        Html.RenderPartial("~/Views/Partials/ContactForm.cshtml", new ContactFormViewModel());
    }

However, in spite of meticulously following these directions, I get the following error when calling http://localhost/generic:

Server Error in '/' Application.

Compilation Error 
      Description: An error occurred during the compilation of a resource required to service this request. Please review the following specific error details and modify your source code appropriately. 

Compiler Error Message: CS0246: The type or namespace name 'MyFirstForm' could not be found (are you missing a using directive or an assembly reference?)

Source Error:

Line 3:     Layout = null;
    Line 4:  }
    Line 5:   @using MyFirstForm.Models;
    Line 6:   
    Line 7:  @{
    Source File: c:\ESC_Test\ESCProject\Views\GenericContactForm.cshtml    Line: 5 

I'm using Umbraco 7.4 Thanks in advance for any help to solve this. Once corrected, I will suggest an update to the otherwise great tutorial if appropriate.

Thank you

• Kasper Holm 47 posts 180 karma points
    Feb 18, 2016 @ 19:34
    Kasper Holm

Hello Mike

I think you need to change

@using MyFirstForm.Models;

to your projects namespace, maybe something like ESCProject.Models ? :)

Feb 18, 2016 @ 20:04