Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Steveo 2 posts 22 karma points
    Mar 04, 2010 @ 17:54
    Steveo

Securing Umbraco

Could someone help me please :), I'm new to umbraco and need some guidance on the best way to secure an umbraco installation that would be externally viewable on the internet.  I wish to be able to disable access to all administration features externally and only allow access to all administration features internally on my network.  My inital thoughts was to create 2 seperate IIS websites, 1 for external use, 1 for internal use and restricting the external one as necessary.  I'm using IIS6 on win2003 x64.   If someone could tell me if I am heading in the right direction, or if there are any other more suitable alternatives that would be super.

Cheers,

Steveo

• Tim 225 posts 690 karma points
    Mar 04, 2010 @ 18:01
    Tim

You could always prevent access to the umbraco folder based on IP address. You can set this in IIS.

In the Directory Security tab there is a section called IP address and domain name restrictions.

You can then set it to only allow access via your IP address.

T

• Douglas Robar 3570 posts 4711 karma points MVP ∞ admin c-trib
    Mar 04, 2010 @ 18:01
    Douglas Robar

Having two servers with one external and one internal that both work against the same content is the most secure approach... you can remove the /umbraco_client folder from the external server and there is no way to change the content from that server.

This is explained in the umbraco.tv episode about load balancing. http://umbraco.org/documentation/videos/for-site-builders/load-balancing/how-to-setup-load-balancing

You'll also want to turn off all debugging features on the live site (set in the web.config).

And secure the file permissions. Here's a script to do that: http://blog.vizioz.com/2009/10/umbraco-permissions-script-secure.html

cheers,
    doug.