Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Andreas Pfanner 196 posts 314 karma points
    Mar 06, 2010 @ 12:41
    Andreas Pfanner

SeekDotNet.com Umbraco Hosting

Hello all,

I'm pretty new to Umbraco, and I'm interested to move my existing sites to Umbraco.
    Actually I have a web hoster in Germany, but I was looking for an alternative for Umbraco hosting, and I found SeekDotNet.com.

Does anybody have experience with SeekDotNet? Do you recommend it?

Best Regards,

Andreas

Mar 08, 2010 @ 13:57
    Andreas Pfanner

Nobody??

Other try: What hoster do you use for Umbraco hosting?? Can you recommend some to me?

Best Regards,
    Andreas

• jaygreasley 416 posts 403 karma points
    Mar 08, 2010 @ 14:36
    jaygreasley

Hi there,

I use Casey (neehouse.com) but he is USA based.

it depends what version of Umbraco you are looking to use. 4.1 will be an official release that runs in medium trust which means you will have more choice of hosting companies. v4.0.3 still needs Full trust.

In the UK I know of people using 1&1, ukfast and godaddy.

It is possible to host on Amazon EC2 as well and that has a European datacentre.

A lot of the standard hosting questions apply, number of sites, traffic, diskspace required etc

hth

J

Mar 08, 2010 @ 15:05
    Andreas Pfanner

Hi Jay,

thanks for your reply!

Is it generally a problem to use a USA hosting company as European customer? Are there any disadvantages (apart from longer ping times, which shouldn't be a great problem in this case)? What's your experience?

Best Regards

Andreas

• jaygreasley 416 posts 403 karma points
    Mar 08, 2010 @ 15:23
    jaygreasley

Hi there,

I only host a small site with few visitors but as you say the only problem is with the longer ping times.

If you are hosting sites that have a global audience then maybe a US based host makes sense anyway.