Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• callen 12 posts 32 karma points
    May 18, 2010 @ 02:00
    callen

have problem install umbraco using the Web Platform Installation can't get pass step 2

Hey Guys,

I'm new to Umbraco and I am having problem get it install on my localhost. I am using the Web Platform Installation and can't get pass step 2. When I tell it to create a Database, I get a Error that say this "The following error occurred when trying to connect to the database by using the specified parameters: Login failed for user 'sa'. Can somebody tell me how to get pass this step. Also, im using window 7.

thanks

• Chris Dunn 210 posts 401 karma points
    May 18, 2010 @ 03:27
    Chris Dunn

Try reseting your sa password for ms sql express to see if that works.  Then try the installer again using the new password.  Sounds like the password is incorrect or for some reason sa does not have access to the database.  Check the permissions on the database or that sa is actually a sysadmin.

Reseting password : http://blog.sqlauthority.com/2007/12/29/sql-server-change-password-of-sa-login-using-management-studio/

-Chris

May 19, 2010 @ 02:59
    callen

Hey Chris, 

it still said unable to connect to the database. Is there any tutorial on how to set up the database?

thank you,

Curtis Allen

• arviman 71 posts 92 karma points
    May 19, 2010 @ 03:37
    arviman

Hey Curtis, I'm pretty new to umbraco as well. I found it easier to install from the .zip file rather than the installer.

Simply extract the contents to the root of iis. Then, in the web.config file, search for "umbracoDbDSN", and change the key such as

<add key="umbracoDbDSN" value="server=.\sqlexpress;database=umbraco;user id=yourid;password=yourpass" />

After that, right click on the root folder, go to security tab.

Create a new user named "NETWORK SECURITY", and grant him full access.

You'll be all set :-)