Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Emil Tinebo 19 posts 39 karma points
    Jun 09, 2010 @ 09:59
    Emil Tinebo

Umbraco crash on login, and running .net3.5 code in medium trust

Hello,

I'm new to Umbraco so this will be my first post here.

I have managed to set up a complete site in umbraco on my local machine so I'm starting to understand how Umbraco works (with all it's document types an templates).

Anyhow, right now I am working on another site and this one has to be run on a shared medium trust server (Windows Server 2008, IIS7.5). My first attempts to get it running failed miserably but after googling around I found the Umbraco 4.0.3 Medium Trust patch.

Hours later was finally able to reach the Umbraco back-end and began working on my site. The next day, when I was about to continue working on the site I went to the login page (domainname.com/umbraco/login.aspx), entered my credentials and clicked the login-button. And here is the scary part, I had an exception thrown in my face:

Server Error in '/' Application.

Object reference not set to an instance of an object.

Description: An unhandled exception occurred during the execution of the current web request. Please review the stack trace for more information about the error and where it originated in the code. 

Exception Details: System.NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.

Source Error: 

An unhandled exception was generated during the execution of the current web request. Information regarding the origin and location of the exception can be identified using the exception stack trace below.

Stack Trace: 

[NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.]
    umbraco.cms.presentation.login.Button1_Click(Object sender, EventArgs e) +643
    System.EventHandler.Invoke(Object sender, EventArgs e) +0