Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Geoff Baldwin 80 posts 100 karma points
    Sep 20, 2010 @ 19:02
    Geoff Baldwin

Basic questions from total newbie

Hi

I am trying to get to grips with Umbraco - with some difficulty as it is a totally new area for me.

I am considering subscribing to the video library (not a vast amount of money I know but I am a one man band and every litle bit counts!) but would like to know if there might be stuff there to help me.

For example, I have a number of sites I have built using asp.net and VWD -- is there a vido explaining how I can use the Master Pages and Style sheets in one of those sites in Umbraco?

Can I continue to develop using VWD and use .net controls to insert Umbraco managed areas into a page?
    Is this halfway sensible?
    Is there a video to show me how?

And so on....... :)

• Sebastiaan Janssen 5045 posts 15477 karma points MVP admin hq
    Sep 20, 2010 @ 20:17
    Sebastiaan Janssen

Have a look at the free videos (builder / developer) to start with. You're going to get a good overview of how Umbraco works. 

People do develop in VWD, for sure. But the lack of debugging tools might be ennoying after a while.

Howevet, to get started you shouldn't have to do custom code at all, and there's plenty of great free packages to help you out. Just give a shout on the forum if you need anything and someone will point you in the right direction.

• Dirk De Grave 4541 posts 6021 karma points MVP 3x admin c-trib
    Sep 20, 2010 @ 20:19
    Dirk De Grave

there's also the basic vids which are free and explain the basics of umbraco: http://umbraco.tv/documentation/videos/for-site-builders/foundation/document-types and http://umbraco.tv/documentation/videos/for-developers/foundation/using-net-user-controls

Anyway, you can always cancel a subscription at any moment... but would be surprised if you did...;

Hope this helps.

Regards,