Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Olaf Greve 3 posts 24 karma points
    Nov 12, 2013 @ 15:55
    Olaf Greve

MVC vs. Webforms: impact on modules and examples?

Hi,

Firstly: I'm a very seasoned PHP programmer in LAMP set-ups, both MVC based as well as non-MVC based.I am completely new to Umbraco and ASP.NET and have to realise a semi-large application that in PHP would typically be modelled using custom entities (for modelling educations, courses, clusters, etc. as well as the relationships between them). I hope I'm asking the right question in the right place, and if not, I hope someone can point me to the right place. :P

The context: For this particular application, the client demands an ASP.NET solution. Umbraco was chosen, and I think I've done a fair deal of reading up on a lot of matters, as well as being subscribed to UmbracoTV and having watched several tutorials. All comes across as a very nice platform, and I'm looking forward to doing the hands-on work, but... in order to do so in a way that I'm not shooting myself in the foot, I want to make one fundamental choice the right way, directly from the start. Towards that end, I've tried to see (Googled) what the general concensus is, and I'm still not 100% sure, so I'll just stick my neck out and ask it here. The site in question is a portal featuring general pages, as well as the above mentioned "entity-based" data. Specific requirements have been made as to SEO friendly URLs (and routes), relationships between the various entities (and attributes that further detail them), execution speed, navigation, and in short the whole shebang. As deadlines are tight (gee, arent't they always in software development?) I'm looking for a good start, with handy choices, and optimal usage of existing modules, tools and other plug ins.