Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Charles Williams 3 posts 54 karma points
    Dec 08, 2014 @ 22:23
    Charles Williams

Absolute URL's in the FeedViewer Module

I am new to developing with Umbraco.  I have read pieces of the documentation, but I am having a hard-time finding information on how Umbraco handles relative and absolute URL's when you edit content.  I already changed the configuration in the TinyMCEconfig file to allow absolute URL's, but it seems to only work with URL's that do not contain www.  I am using the FeedViewer module and Umbraco v6.1.6.  In the FeedViewer macro, it only excepts URL's that have http:// in the URL, however the feed I am trying to post is in a different sub directory but within the same base address as the website and you have to use www because of the way the domain is setup in the network on the domain controller.

When I save the homepage, the feedviewer macro defaults back to the relative URL.  How can I stop it from doing this?

• Jan Skovgaard 11280 posts 23678 karma points MVP 10x admin c-trib
    Dec 09, 2014 @ 05:58
    Jan Skovgaard

Hi Charles and welcome to our :)

Is this the Feed viewer you're writing about above?

When you use a different sub-directory is that then on the disk? What does the code for generating the feed look like?

And have you setup a hostname for your website? If not that maye be the reason why you're not getting the absolute path since I can imagine the feed viewer is using the umbraco.library:NiceUrl() extension to generate the URL by an id. But if there has not been added a hostname to the root node the domain won't be a part of the path.

Looking forward to hearing from you.

/Jan

Dec 09, 2014 @ 15:01
    Charles Williams

Yes, that is the Feed Viewer I was talking about.  It works great by the way.  Easy to style.