Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at


  • Court Borgman 12 posts 32 karma points
    Apr 14, 2011 @ 22:08
    Court Borgman
    0

    Macro properties not loading in RTE

    I made a usercontrol (ascx) to make expanding text from a header.  So when the user clicks the header or the arrow next to it the actual copy becomes visible on the page.  This is all done with javascript and there is no actual code behind.  I made it so that users could easilly add the expanding text without having to consult me about the javascript and how to implement the html.

    The user control works exactly as expected; the user inserts the macro into the RTE, fills in the heading line that the client will click on to make the sections copy apear on the page, and fills in the actual html copy that will apear.  When the page is save however and the user goes back to edit the macro's contents the macro editor window pops up but the page inside the frame is just the http 404 error and I cant actually edit the macro.

    Any suggestions on how to fix this?  I tried uninstalling and reinstalling the macro and making sure all the properties are setup correctly which I dont think is the issue.  All of the other macros I have created for this install (there are several) all work correctly.  I apreciate any suggestions.

    Thanks

  • Jan Skovgaard 11280 posts 23678 karma points MVP 11x admin c-trib
    Apr 14, 2011 @ 22:23
    Jan Skovgaard
    0

    Hi Court

    Is the error occuring inside the rich text editor in Umbraco or is it happening elsewhere?

    And are you sure the reference to the file is correct?

    /Jan

  • Court Borgman 12 posts 32 karma points
    Apr 14, 2011 @ 22:56
    Court Borgman
    0

    The reference to the file is correct because I can enter the data when I create the macro just fine and it apears on the actual page just fine.  The error isnt in the rich text editor itself its in the "popup" window that comes up when I try to edit the macros properties.  All of the properties are named correctly as well as all of the content in the macro apears as expected.

  • Court Borgman 12 posts 32 karma points
    Apr 21, 2011 @ 15:52
    Court Borgman
    0

    Sorry to bump this, but I am quite stumped by this issue and am just wonddering if anybody out there has any suggestions to try.  It would be greatly apreciated.

     

    Thank you

  • Jan Skovgaard 11280 posts 23678 karma points MVP 11x admin c-trib
    Apr 21, 2011 @ 17:00
    Jan Skovgaard
    0

    Hi Court

    Sorry...seems that I have missed your previous post.

    I'm a bit puzzled about this...but I think this could may be an issue with permissions...

    Does this error only occur when you're trying to edit this specific macro based on the ascx or does it also occur with other macroes?

    /Jan

  • Court Borgman 12 posts 32 karma points
    Apr 21, 2011 @ 17:02
    Court Borgman
    0

    It is this specific macro, all the other ones work as expected.

     

    Court

  • Jan Skovgaard 11280 posts 23678 karma points MVP 11x admin c-trib
    Apr 21, 2011 @ 17:32
    Jan Skovgaard
    0

    Hi Court

    Hmmm...

    Do you reference som JavaScript inside the user control perhaps?

    Could you provide a snippet of how the code inside it looks?

    /Jan

  • Court Borgman 12 posts 32 karma points
    Apr 21, 2011 @ 17:37
    Court Borgman
    0

    I do reference javascript, thats actually the whole point of the macro.  I am just trying to make it easier for content editors (who know no html or js at all) to be able to edit the expanding text.  As you can see below it is a pretty simple straight forward control.  I should also mention that I reference javascript in many other user controls.

     

    [script]

    <%@ Control Language="VB" ClassName="expandingText" %>

    <script runat="server">
        Private _id As String = ""
        Private _heading As String = ""
        Private _hiddenContent As String = ""
       
        Public Property id()
            Get
                Return _id
            End Get

            Set(ByVal Value)
                _id = Value
            End Set
        End Property
       
        Public Property heading()
            Get
                Return _heading
            End Get

            Set(ByVal Value)
                _heading = Value
            End Set
        End Property
       
        Public Property hiddenContent()
            Get
                Return _hiddenContent
            End Get

            Set(ByVal Value)
                _hiddenContent = Value
            End Set
        End Property
    </script>

    <script type="text/javascript" language="javascript">
        function setVisibility<%= id%>() {
            var expand<%= id%> = document.getElementById('expand<%= id%>');
            var collapsable<%= id%> = document.getElementById('collapsable<%= id%>');
            if (expand<%= id%>.className == 'collapsed') {
                collapsable<%= id%>.style.display = 'block';
                expand<%= id%>.className = 'expanded';
                expand<%= id%>.src = '/images/down_small.PNG';
            } else {
                collapsable<%= id%>.style.display = 'none';
                expand<%= id%>.className = 'collapsed';
                expand<%= id%>.src = '/images/right_small.PNG';
            }
        }


    </script>

    <div>
        <div onmouseover="this.style.cursor='pointer'; return false;"><div style="width: 18px; float: left; display: inline-block;"><img src="/images/right_small.PNG" id="expand<%= id%>" class="collapsed" onclick="setVisibility<%= id%>(); return false;" /></div><div style="float: left; font-weight: bold;"onclick="setVisibility<%= id%>(); return false;"><%= heading%></div></div>
        <div style="clear: both;"></div>
        <div class="collapsable" id="collapsable<%= id%>" style="display: none; margin-bottom: 25px; float: left;"><%= hiddenContent%></div>
        <div style="clear: both;"></div>
    </div>

     

    [/script]

  • Jan Skovgaard 11280 posts 23678 karma points MVP 11x admin c-trib
    Apr 21, 2011 @ 17:40
    Jan Skovgaard
    0

    Hi Court

    Could it be that there for some reason has been set some other permissions on this specific file than there are on the others? Could this be the issue?

    /Jan

Please Sign in or register to post replies

Write your reply to:

Draft