Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at


  • Mark 49 posts 130 karma points
    Jun 02, 2011 @ 06:48
    Mark
    0

    umbraco to linq null object issue + solution (not really)

     

    [InvalidCastException: Null object cannot be converted to a value type.]
       System.Convert.ChangeType(Object value, Type conversionType, IFormatProvider provider) +9531832
       umbraco.Linq.Core.Node.NodeDataProvider.LoadFromXml(XElement xml, T node) +1958
       umbraco.Linq.Core.Node.NodeTree`1.GetEnumerator() +440
       System.Linq.WhereEnumerableIterator`1.MoveNext() +63
       System.Linq.Buffer`1..ctor(IEnumerable`1 source) +217
       System.Linq.<GetEnumerator>d__0.MoveNext() +96

    Seems that if you have a datatype with existing nodes, then make changes to the datatype (such as adding a true/false property) it will break the umbraco to linq datacontext, throwing an error when you have code in a usercontrol instantiating the collection such as 'new MyDataContext().MyDataType.First()'.

    After this the existing node data is invalid, republishing the entire site will not fix it, however going through and re-saving any Nodes that are of this doctype will fix the issue. So it looks as if when a new property for a doctype is created (or modified?) the default values for the existing node database values are not set correctly, and then this is consequently fixed on saving.

    Cheers
    Mark

  • Olle Jacobsen 5 posts 38 karma points
    Jun 08, 2011 @ 01:55
    Olle Jacobsen
    0

    I have the same issue, but I can't manually get through all the nodes of that data type (close to 1000). Does anyone has a suggestion to my (our) problem?

    Thanks in advance.

  • Brian 15 posts 35 karma points
    Sep 03, 2011 @ 15:12
    Brian
    0

    Mark,
    I got this too and your post saved the day so thanks for that!

    I "solved" the issue by going through and re-savings all the nodes individually as you suggested. Fortunately I only had a half-dozen since I'm in the process of building a news site.

    Talk about a "gotcha"!

    Regards,
    - Brian

     

  • SideSam 13 posts 33 karma points
    Sep 06, 2011 @ 16:28
    SideSam
    0

    Hi Mark, 

    Thanks for solution, solved my little problem :)

  • Jon Free 14 posts 34 karma points
    Jan 07, 2012 @ 17:12
    Jon Free
    0

    Worked for me too. Just save all the nodes and it stopped erroring

  • This forum is in read-only mode while we transition to the new forum.

    You can continue this topic on the new forum by tapping the "Continue discussion" link below.

Please Sign in or register to post replies