Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at


  • James Hildeman 92 posts 88 karma points
    Jul 19, 2009 @ 21:47
    James Hildeman
    0

    Umbv4 dashboard tabs drawn incorrectly in IE8

    Does anybody else have multiple tabs in their content dashboard for v4?  Do they draw correctly the first time in.  I have had these tabs here forever (http://www.flickr.com/photos/jhildeman/3735266425/).  When I converted to v4 they were fine until I got the recent IE8 install.  Now they stack up and just don't draw correctly. It seems to clear up when I click on the top level content node and openDashboard gets run.

    I see this is both my custom site and a straight out-of-the-box Umb v4 site with Runway. 

  • Peter Dijksterhuis 1442 posts 1722 karma points
    Jul 19, 2009 @ 22:06
    Peter Dijksterhuis
    0

    I've seen this too. I don't worry about it, it only happens to me on the initial load of the page. All is ok after I click through the items.

  • Sebastiaan Janssen 5061 posts 15544 karma points MVP admin hq
    Jul 19, 2009 @ 22:09
    Sebastiaan Janssen
    0

    Yup, I have the same problem in IE8. Just run it in IE7 compatibility mode and it works just fine.

    Or just get a real browser, like Firefox.. ;-)

  • Bjørn Fridal 274 posts 784 karma points
    Jul 28, 2009 @ 16:58
    Bjørn Fridal
    0

    I had the same problem. Running in IE7 compatibility mode presented some other problems for me so I added the following to the umbraco/dashboard.aspx file.

     <script type="text/javascript">
      $(function() {
       setTimeout("resizePanel('<%= Panel2.ClientID %>', false, true);", 100);
      });
     </script>

    It resizes the panel 100 milliseconds after the page has been loaded. Obvious a temporary solution but I am guessing there will be more focus on IE8 soon anyway.

  • Sebastiaan Janssen 5061 posts 15544 karma points MVP admin hq
    Jul 28, 2009 @ 17:50
    Sebastiaan Janssen
    1

    Why don't you do that on document ready? Then you know for sure that the resize can be done :)

    $(document).ready(function() {
     resizePanel('<%= Panel2.ClientID %>', false, true);
    });
  • Bjørn Fridal 274 posts 784 karma points
    Jul 29, 2009 @ 14:21
    Bjørn Fridal
    0

    Hi Sebastian,

    Actually

    $(function(){});

    is just a shorter version of

     $(document).ready(function(){});

    http://docs.jquery.com/Events/ready

     

    Anyway the resizePanel is already called once, but that is apparently not sufficient. The resizePanel takes the window dimensions to calculate the panel size. I googled the subject of jquery, iframes and onload events and there are some pitfalls http://www.nabble.com/%24%28-window.parent.document-%29.height%28%29-throws-error-from-child-iframe-to23439894s27240.html

    With the above link i mind the following is a more accurate solution, but maybe a little too much for a layout issue of this size.

     <script type="text/javascript">
      window.parent.document.onreadystatechange = function() {
       if (window.parent.document.readyState == 'complete') {
        var parent = $(window.parent.document.body);
        var clientHeight = parent.height() - 48;
        var clientWidth  = (parent.width() - (parseInt(parent.width() * 0.25)));
        
        resizePanelTo('<%= Panel2.ClientID %>', false, clientWidth-30, clientHeight);
       }
      };
     </script>

     

  • James Hildeman 92 posts 88 karma points
    Jul 29, 2009 @ 16:41
    James Hildeman
    0

    Thanks everyone for the posts!  You got me on the right track.  I actually wound up with the following that seems to resolve the issue as well.  I added at the bottom of the ready block that already exists in umbraco.aspx.  

    $(document).ready(function() {
      // ...
      // the stuff already found in Umbraco.aspx   
       resizePage('load');
    });

     

  • Iain Smallwood 8 posts 27 karma points
    Aug 25, 2009 @ 12:36
    Iain Smallwood
    0

    Thanks James that was helpful.

    cheers,

    Iain

  • This forum is in read-only mode while we transition to the new forum.

    You can continue this topic on the new forum by tapping the "Continue discussion" link below.

Please Sign in or register to post replies