Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at


  • Xiuqing Li 12 posts 33 karma points
    May 09, 2012 @ 10:01
    Xiuqing Li
    0

    Problem in moving the Global Elements in to Website content

    Hi,

    Can anyone tell me how to fix this problem. I want to move the Global Elements into site one,The exception happens when I right click on global Elements select 'move' or 'copy'. 

    -------------------------------content tree

    Content

    --site one

    --Global Elements

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Server Error in '/' Application.

    Object reference not set to an instance of an object.

    Description: An unhandled exception occurred during the execution of the current web request. Please review the stack trace for more information about the error and where it originated in the code.

    Exception Details: System.NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.

    Source Error:

    An unhandled exception was generated during the execution of the current web request. Information regarding the origin and location of the exception can be identified using the exception stack trace below.


    Stack Trace:

    [NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.]
       umbraco.dialogs.moveOrCopy.CheckPermissions(CMSNode node, IAction currentAction, Char actionLetter) +53
       umbraco.dialogs.moveOrCopy.CheckPermissions(CMSNode node, IAction currentAction, Char actionLetter) +158
       umbraco.dialogs.moveOrCopy.CheckPermissions(CMSNode node, IAction currentAction, Char actionLetter) +158
       umbraco.dialogs.moveOrCopy.ValidAction(Char actionLetter) +156
       umbraco.dialogs.moveOrCopy.Page_Load(Object sender, EventArgs e) +1468
       System.Web.Util.CalliHelper.EventArgFunctionCaller(IntPtr fp, Object o, Object t, EventArgs e) +14
       System.Web.Util.CalliEventHandlerDelegateProxy.Callback(Object sender, EventArgs e) +35
       System.EventHandler.Invoke(Object sender, EventArgs e) +0
       System.Web.UI.Control.OnLoad(EventArgs e) +91
       umbraco.BasePages.BasePage.OnLoad(EventArgs e) +14
       System.Web.UI.Control.LoadRecursive() +74
       System.Web.UI.Page.ProcessRequestMain(Boolean includeStagesBeforeAsyncPoint, Boolean includeStagesAfterAsyncPoint) +2207
    


    Thanks in advance,

    Li


    Version Information: Microsoft .NET Framework Version:4.0.30319; ASP.NET Version:4.0.30319.272

  • Simon steed 375 posts 687 karma points
    Jun 07, 2012 @ 20:03
    Simon steed
    0

    Just encountered the same error myself - for me i've just created a package of content from another site and imported into a new build which has the same datatypes, doc types etc

    When I try to move to the new location, I get the same error - running 4.7.2

  • Simon Dingley 1472 posts 3429 karma points c-trib
    Jun 10, 2012 @ 21:08
    Simon Dingley
    0

    I also have the same issue in a multi-site installation. Strangely it only affects the first root node and all other seem fine.

  • Simon Dingley 1472 posts 3429 karma points c-trib
    Jun 10, 2012 @ 21:30
    Simon Dingley
    0

    On a hunch as I've not got time to dig into this further right now I installed the great Content Maintenance Dashboard package by Richard Soeteman and was able to move the node using that :) I hope you guys have the same success.

  • Simon steed 375 posts 687 karma points
    Jun 11, 2012 @ 09:49
    Simon steed
    0

    Thanks, I got around the initial issue by copying the nodes I wanted over to the new location, not ideal but did the job - hopefully it will be sorted in the next patch :-)

     

  • Simon Dingley 1472 posts 3429 karma points c-trib
    Jun 11, 2012 @ 09:56
    Simon Dingley
    0

    I'd be interested to find out why it's even being thrown in the first place and only on selected nodes. I have some time to burn tomorrow while travelling to #CG12 so will try and look then. Are you going to be there?

  • Simon steed 375 posts 687 karma points
    Jun 11, 2012 @ 10:18
    Simon steed
    0

    Most certainly will - where are you staging? I'll be at Wakeup

  • Xiuqing Li 12 posts 33 karma points
    Jun 11, 2012 @ 10:20
    Xiuqing Li
    0

    Thanks for the idea Simon Dingley. To Simon steed, Can you briefly tell me how to you " got around the initial issue by copying the nodes I wanted over to the new location " ? thanks

  • Simon Dingley 1472 posts 3429 karma points c-trib
    Jun 11, 2012 @ 10:25
    Simon Dingley
    0

    Staying at Wakeup too. Myself and Barry Fogarty I think land about 5pm tomorrow, local time.

  • Simon steed 375 posts 687 karma points
    Jun 11, 2012 @ 10:41
    Simon steed
    0

    Excellent - not sure what time we land but plane leaves at 10:50am.

    Re the copying, right click on the node and select copy instead of move or use the package Simon mentioned. You may need to alter your doc types so that the place you want to copy to will accept the parent item but apart from that should work fine.

  • Xiuqing Li 12 posts 33 karma points
    Jun 11, 2012 @ 11:09
    Xiuqing Li
    0

    In my case, It appears the same error message as when I am trying to move the Global Elements content folder.

  • Simon Dingley 1472 posts 3429 karma points c-trib
    Jun 11, 2012 @ 11:21
    Simon Dingley
    0

    Xiuqing Li, that's the behaviour I would have expected. Content Maintenance Dashboard does not have the same issue as it uses it's own UI to move the node(s).

Please Sign in or register to post replies

Write your reply to:

Draft