Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Andrew Cameron 6 posts 25 karma points
    May 03, 2010 @ 21:48
    Andrew Cameron

Help with troubleshooting HTML table problem

Hello, I am new to Umbraco but I hope someone can help.

I am having problems saving and/or publishing a page with an HTML table. I am editing the HTML of the page directly and copying and pasting table code from another page where it works. I then modify the table content, add some rows, maybe a column, change the data, etc. Usually I can save and publish the page at least once. However when I try to make further edits I cannot save or publish the page. IE8 displays the error as "Internet Explorer cannot display the webpage". Firefox says "The connection to the server was reset while the page was loading". I have to close the Umbraco window entirely, or click over to another section like Media and then back to Content in order to work with Umbraco again.

If I remove the table entirely from the page I can save it and publish it again. Sometimes I can even get the table code back in again for one save, but usually not at all. I'm sorry I can't be more precise but I can't determine an exact series of steps to get the error to occur. It seems like saving and publishing with the table is "fragile" but I can't reproduce the error with an exact set of steps yet.

The Umbraco site is located at a hosting provider so I don't have access to the logs. However, if it would help track this down I would like to try asking them for information from the logs - what log names would I ask for?

The hosting provider is running Umbraco 4.0.2.1. I know that 4.0.3 is the latest version.

Any advice for how I can troubleshoot this problem?

Thanks,

Andrew

• Chris Dunn 210 posts 401 karma points
    May 14, 2010 @ 01:34
    Chris Dunn

Andrew,