Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Torben Jensen 13 posts 35 karma points
    Aug 08, 2010 @ 23:54
    Torben Jensen

A beginner's view on Umbraco - suggestions for Umbraco.tv

So, I am a beginner. Coming from a PHP world and having implemented a few sites in Typo3, the ASP / XSLT world is new to me. But I have actually become less sceptic and more positive after working with the Umbraco system over the past weeks.

One thing strikes me though: the almost complete lack of fundamental tutorials for "dummies" and newbies. It's like everyone assumes that if you implement Umbraco you automatically know about where to do things, and a single screenshot or a few codelines is enough documentation.

Let me assure you: often it's not. And I found myself googling endless hours on various problems, often finding the solution on some randome blog post in a comment.

I know that Umbraco provides documentation as part of the business model, which is fine. It is a different way of doing things than over at Typo3, but understandable.

What I really would like though is more complete documentation for beginners, with videos and source code. So it's possible to learn what to do, where to apply the code and why it worked.

A nice example would be the "30 minutes from start to webpage" from Codegarden 09. Why is such perfect example left as forgotten notes in a Wiki ? (along with many other of the same kind).

Or, it could be "how to make a usable program in VS2010 and install in Umbraco".

It would not even have to be with voiceover, just a screencast with notes, along with source code. Or even a PDF.

Hope you can use some of this feedback. I think Umbraco has great potential - but please do not forget the documentation.

Thanks for taking the time to read this.

Torben

• Arjan H. 221 posts 457 karma points c-trib
    Aug 11, 2010 @ 10:13
    Arjan H.