Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Nicole Polet 50 posts 202 karma points
    May 18, 2016 @ 23:33
    Nicole Polet

Render Content Node with Associated Template on Parent Page

Disclaimer: complete noob to Umbraco here.

What I'm trying to do is create a modular page where it is easy for content editors to add and remove sections.

I have a parent doctype called "Modular page" and several different child doctypes which are variations of "content blocks" (the modular sections of the page), each having their own set of parameters and their own templates.

I would like to have the "modular page" template list all of the child "content blocks" sequentially. So that all of the content blocks render in the modular page with their associated templates. (Hope this is making sense so far, I'm not super familiar with all the lingo yet).

I've followed the tutorial here: https://our.umbraco.org/documentation/tutorials/creating-basic-site/articles-parent-and-article-items which does what I want it to do, except that it only pulls in specific parameters of the children. I want it to pull in the entire template that I've associated with the child.

Has anyone else attempted to do something similar?

Thanks in advance.

Nicole

• Alex Skrypnyk 6132 posts 23951 karma points MVP 7x admin c-trib
    May 19, 2016 @ 10:25
    Alex Skrypnyk

Hi Nicole,

Welcome to our community.

This is typical issue with Umbraco.

We solve such issues with code like that:

@foreach (var item in selection)
    {
        switch (item.DocumentTypeAlias)
        {
            case "pollPage":
                Html.RenderPartial("Trend Poll", item);
                break;
            case "counterAndText":
                Html.RenderPartial("Trend Counter", item);
                break;
            case "randomSlider":
                Html.RenderPartial("Trend Random Slider", item);
                break;