Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at


  • Akeem 43 posts 198 karma points
    May 25, 2016 @ 22:05
    Akeem
    0

    Umbraco : Input string was not in a correct format.

    Hi ,

    Please help me . each time i run my application, am getting this error . Looking at the code , all is fine . I don'enter image description heret have any error on my code . Please help me .

  • Manish 373 posts 932 karma points
    May 26, 2016 @ 05:50
    Manish
    0

    Before assigning it to src

    Check like this

    if(imgRolloverOff != null)
    {
    your image tag 
    }
    

    Manish

  • Dennis Adolfi 1082 posts 6450 karma points MVP 6x c-trib
    May 26, 2016 @ 06:30
    Dennis Adolfi
    0

    Hi Akeem.

    The errormessage "Input string was not in a correct format" usally apears when a parse is made from a string to a int. Im guessing that a parse is beeing made in the Umbraco.TypedMedia() function and its causing an error. Probobly because the @CurrentPage.carouselImg3 is null or Empty. You sholud probobly make sure that CurrentPage has a value for carouselImg3 and also that it is of type int.

    Try the following:

    @if (CurrentPage.HasValue("carouselImg3"))
    {
        int mediaId;
        Int32.TryParse(CurrentPage.carouselImg3.ToString(), out mediaId);
    
        if (mediaId != 0)
        {
            IPublishedContent imgRolloverOf = Umbraco.TypedMedia(CurrentPage.carouselImg3.ToString());
            if (imgRolloverOf != null)
            {
                <img class="img-responsive center-block" src="@imgRolloverOf.Url"/>
            }
        }
    }
    

    Hope this works out for you!!

    PS.

    Just to double-check, CurrentPage.carouselImg3 is of datatype mediapicker?

  • Akeem 43 posts 198 karma points
    May 26, 2016 @ 13:15
    Akeem
    0

    Hi Dennis,

    CurrentPage.carouselImg3 is of datatype mediapicker . However , am still getting the same error .

    enter image description here

    Please help me . I dont know how to solve this issue . My code now :

     <div class="item">
    
    
                            @if (CurrentPage.HasValue("carouselImg3"))
                            {
                                int mediaId;
                                Int32.TryParse(CurrentPage.carouselImg3.ToString(), out mediaId);
    
                                if (mediaId != 0)
                                {
                                    IPublishedContent imgRolloverOf = Umbraco.TypedMedia(CurrentPage.carouselImg3.ToString());
                                    if (imgRolloverOf != null)
                                    {
                                        <img class="img-responsive center-block" src="@imgRolloverOf.Url" />
                                    }
                                }
                                <a class="carousel-caption" href="@Umbraco.NiceUrl(@Convert.ToInt32(@Umbraco.Field("carousel3Link").ToString()))"></a>
                            }
                        </div>
    
  • Dennis Adolfi 1082 posts 6450 karma points MVP 6x c-trib
    May 26, 2016 @ 13:25
    Dennis Adolfi
    101

    Could it be this line that breaks for you?

     <a class="carousel-caption" href="@Umbraco.NiceUrl(@Convert.ToInt32(@Umbraco.Field("carousel3Link").ToString()))"></a>
    

    Have you tried uncommenting the above line?

    What datatype is carousel3Link? It looks like it could be a contentpicker, is that correct? In that case, could you try:

     <div class="item">
                                @if (CurrentPage.HasValue("carouselImg3"))
                                {
                                    int mediaId;
                                    Int32.TryParse(CurrentPage.carouselImg3.ToString(), out mediaId);
    
                                    if (mediaId != 0)
                                    {
                                        IPublishedContent imgRolloverOf = Umbraco.TypedMedia(CurrentPage.carouselImg3.ToString());
                                        if (imgRolloverOf != null)
                                        {
                                            <img class="img-responsive center-block" src="@imgRolloverOf.Url" />
                                        }
                                    }
                                }
    
                                @if (CurrentPage.HasValue("carousel3Link"))
                                {
                                    int nodeId;
                                    Int32.TryParse(CurrentPage.carousel3Link.ToString(), out nodeId);
    
                                    if (nodeId != 0)
                                    {
                                        IPublishedContent node = Umbraco.TypedContent(CurrentPage.carousel3Link.ToString());
                                        if (node != null)
                                        {
                                            <a class="carousel-caption" href="@node.Url"></a>
                                        }
                                    }
                                }
    
        </div>
    
  • Akeem 43 posts 198 karma points
    May 26, 2016 @ 14:23
    Akeem
    1

    HI Dennis,

    You are a genius . I was just wondering how you knew that was a contentPicker . Its it works on my development . Now i have to transfer the code to the real site .

    Also i just noticed what happened . The content picker is empty . That might be reason its throwing the exception . Am working with the website designer , so am not able to pinpoint what has changed some times in the umbraco admin section ...

    However , as part of fixing this issue , i upgraded umbraco for my development site . but it doesnt still work yesterday . Can i still use courier from umbraco 7.4 new version with umbraco previous version . The sites were the same version before when i was using the courier .

  • Dennis Adolfi 1082 posts 6450 karma points MVP 6x c-trib
    May 27, 2016 @ 06:25
    Dennis Adolfi
    0

    Thank you Akeem! :)

    I dont know, made sense that it would be a contentpicker. Yes, if the contentpicker if empty i could see why it threw the exception.

    About your last question about Courier, you sholud post it as a separate forum thread, since Im not very fimiliar with courier.

    Best of luck to you!!!

    Have a great day!!

  • Akeem 43 posts 198 karma points
    May 27, 2016 @ 13:11
    Akeem
    1

    Thank You Dennis ..

  • This forum is in read-only mode while we transition to the new forum.

    You can continue this topic on the new forum by tapping the "Continue discussion" link below.

Please Sign in or register to post replies