Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at


  • Bex 444 posts 555 karma points
    Sep 07, 2016 @ 12:05
    Bex
    0

    Filtering Nodes and Adding to New List Razor

    Hi

    This is finally my first outing with umbraco 7 and Razor having moved from Umbraco 4 & 6 and to say i'm confused is an understatement!

    So ok, I'm starting out with what I thought was a very simple problem on an existing site but I've fallen at the first hurdle!!

    I have a Partial View Macro File and I want to get all the pages based on a query and populate a list. This is working fine..

    var startNode = Umbraco.Content(startNodeId);
    var selection = startNode.Descendants().Where("Visible && DocumentTypeAlias != @0", "Group");
    
    <ul>
        @foreach (var item in selection.OrderBy("Name"))
        {           
            <option data-id="@item.Id" value="@item.Name">@item.Name</option>                   
        }
    </ul>
    

    But.. I need to filter this list. There are some nodes that have the same name, and I only need to show one of them so I am trying to add all the nodes to a new list but only if a node with the same name doesn't already exist.

    So I have added this and then am trying to add these to the list.

    var DistinctSelection = Array[]
    @foreach (var item in selection)
        {           
            @if(!DistinctSelection.Any(n=>n.Name==item.Name)){
                @DistinctSelection.Add(item);   }   
        }
    

    I am really not sure if my syntax is correct but when I run it nothing happens. No error, nothing! I just get an empty list.

    My questions are:

    1. Is this anywhere near right?
    2. Why don't I get any feedback as to what's wrong?

    Any help or guidance would be much appreciated!

    Thanks

    Bex

  • Bex 444 posts 555 karma points
    Sep 07, 2016 @ 12:42
    Bex
    0

    I have found a way of doing it!!

    Courtesy of this post:

    https://our.umbraco.org/forum/developers/razor/19020-Is-there-something-like-%27GroupBy%27

    It doesn't involve adding them to a list or array so I'd still actually like to know if thats possible.. but here's how I've done it:

    var startNode = Umbraco.Content(startNodeId);
    var selection = startNode.Descendants().Where("Visible && DocumentTypeAlias != @0", "ProductGroup");
    
    
    string parentCurrent = "";
    <ul>
        @foreach (var item in selection.OrderBy("Name"))
        {   
    
             if (parentCurrent != item.Name)
                {         
                    <option data-id="@item.Id" value="@item.Name">@item.Name</option>   
                }
             parentCurrent = item.Name;
        }
    </ul>
    
  • Lucio 24 posts 142 karma points
    Sep 07, 2016 @ 12:55
    Lucio
    0

    Hi Bex,

    Have you tried with DistinctBy. Should be cleaner and faster.

    @{
        var startNode = Umbraco.Content(startNodeId);
        var selection = startNode.Descendants().Where("Visible && DocumentTypeAlias != @0", "ProductGroup");
    }
    
    <ul>
        @foreach (var item in selection.DistinctBy(s => s.Name))
        {   
             <option data-id="@item.Id" value="@item.Name">@item.Name</option>   
        }
    </ul>
    

    Cheers,

    /Lucio

  • Bex 444 posts 555 karma points
    Sep 07, 2016 @ 13:30
    Bex
    0

    Hi Lucio

    I just tried this but this just gives the empty dropdown again. Is there anyway of getting feedback on errors or when something doesnt work?

  • Lucio 24 posts 142 karma points
    Sep 07, 2016 @ 13:45
    Lucio
    0

    Is it working if replace this:

    @{
        var startNode = Umbraco.Content(startNodeId);
        var selection = startNode.Descendants().Where("Visible && DocumentTypeAlias != @0", "ProductGroup");
    }
    
    <ul>
        @foreach (var item in selection.DistinctBy(s => s.Name))
        {   
             <option data-id="@item.Id" value="@item.Name">@item.Name</option>   
        }
    </ul>
    

    For this:

    var startNode = Umbraco.Content(startNodeId);
    var selection = startNode.Descendants().Where("Visible && DocumentTypeAlias != @0", "ProductGroup");
    
    <ul>
        @foreach (var item in selection.DistinctBy(s => s.Name))
        {   
             <option data-id="@item.Id" value="@item.Name">@item.Name</option>   
        }
    </ul>
    

    You are not having any compilation error?

  • Lucio 24 posts 142 karma points
    Sep 07, 2016 @ 13:50
    Lucio
    0

    Ups, I have just see that you are working with a dynamic object (Umbraco.Content instead of Umbraco.TypedContent) so you need to use the next:

    var startNode = Umbraco.Content(startNodeId);
    var selection = startNode.Descendants().Where("Visible && DocumentTypeAlias != @0", "ProductGroup");
    
    <ul>
        @foreach (var item in selection.DistinctBy("Name"))
        {   
             <option data-id="@item.Id" value="@item.Name">@item.Name</option>   
        }
    </ul>
    

    Sorry about that xD

  • Bex 444 posts 555 karma points
    Sep 07, 2016 @ 14:57
    Bex
    0

    Still give blank dropdown with no error :( Least i got it working. Really not liking these no errors. Am I doing this wrong?

  • Alex Skrypnyk 6182 posts 24284 karma points MVP 8x admin c-trib
    Sep 07, 2016 @ 21:38
    Alex Skrypnyk
    0

    Hi Bex and Lucio,

    Problem that you are using dynamic types, if you will rewrite it to strongly typed - you will see errors and it will be easier to work with it.

    Thanks,

    Alex

  • This forum is in read-only mode while we transition to the new forum.

    You can continue this topic on the new forum by tapping the "Continue discussion" link below.

Please Sign in or register to post replies